VI Mobile Scores and Betting OddsVI Mobile Scores and Betting Odds Be Social
Betting Tools

Odds & Ends - New Hampshire

New Hampshire Motor Speedway


-- Groundbreaking for New Hampshire International Speedway, as New Hampshire Motor Speedway was originally named, was Aug. 13, 1989.
-- The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was on July 11, 1993.
-- Renamed New Hampshire Motor Speedway in 2008.


-- There have been 35 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; one per year from 1993 through 1996 and two per year since.
-- Four drivers have competed in all 35 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Joe Nemechek.
-- Mark Martin won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup pole.
-- Rusty Wallace won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race.
-- There have been 18 different pole winners, led by Ryan Newman (six).
-- 21 different drivers have won, led by Jeff Burton (four).
-- Jimmie Johnson (2003) and Kurt Busch (2004) are the only drivers that have posted season sweeps. Those are also the only back-to-back winners.
-- Hendrick Motorsports has won nine races, more than any other organization.
-- The deepest in the field that a New Hampshire race winner started was 38th, by Jeff Burton in 1999.
-- There have been five winners who started from the pole. The last race winner to win from the pole was Ryan Newman last season (7-17-11).
-- Jeff Burton led all 300 laps raced in the 2000 fall race.
-- Four drivers got their first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win at New Hampshire: Joe Nemechek (1999), Ryan Newman (2002), Clint Bowyer (2007) and Joey Logano (2009).
-- Two drivers got their first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coors Light Pole at New Hampshire: Patrick Carpentier(2008) and Brad Keselowski (2010).
-- Denny Hamlin (8.4) and Jimmie Johnson (9.9) are the only two active drivers with an average finish at NHMS in the top 10.
-- Jeff Gordon has led the most NASCAR Sprint Cup Series laps all-time at New Hampshire at 1,309.
-- Last season's fall event (9/25/11) at NHMS tied the records for most all-time leaders (15), and fewest laps led by the winner (2) - Tony Stewart won the race.
-- Youngest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series New Hampshire Motor Speedway winner: Joey Logano (06/28/2009 - 19 years, 1 month, 4 days).
-- Oldest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series New Hampshire Motor Speedway winner: Mark Martin (09/20/2009 - 50 years, 8 months, 11 days).

NASCAR in New Hampshire

-- There have been 35 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in New Hampshire, all at NHMS.
-- 14 drivers in NASCAR's three national series (all-time) are listed as New Hampshire natives.
-- There has been one race winner from New Hampshire in NASCAR's three national series: Jamie Aube. Aube, from Manchester, won a NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Oxford Plains Speedway in 1987.

New Hampshire Motor Speedway Data

Chase Race#: 2 of 10
Season Race#: 28 of 36 (09-23-12)
Track Size: 1.058-mile
Variable Banking/Turns: 2 & 7 degrees
Banking/Straights: 1 degree
Frontstretch Length: 1,500 feet
Backstretch Length: 1,500 feet
Race Length: 300 laps / 317.4 miles

Top 12 Driver Rating at NHMS

Tony Stewart 112.0
Jeff Gordon 109.3
Jimmie Johnson 105.1
Denny Hamlin 101.4
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 97.8
Clint Bowyer 96.0
Ryan Newman 94.8
Kevin Harvick 92.4
Jeff Burton 92.4
Kurt Busch 91.7
Kasey Kahne 90.3
Kyle Busch 89.3

Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2012 races (15 total) at New Hampshire.

Qualifying/Race Data

2011 pole winner: Ryan Newman, Chevrolet (135.002 mph, 28.213 sec., 09-23-11)
2011 race winner: Tony Stewart, Chevrolet (116.679 mph, 2:43:13, 09-25-11)
Track qualifying record: Ryan Newman, Chevrolet (135.232 mph, 28.165 sec., 07-15-11)
Track race record: Jeff Burton, Ford (117.134 mph, 2:42:35, 07-13-97)

Roberts: Toyota Owners 400
Dobish: Best Bets - Richmond
Roberts: Top-Five Predictions
Stenhouse Jr. inks deals with 3 sponsors
Richmond set to host races with redesign
Ford announces switch to Mustang in '19
Kyle Busch wins Food City 500
Bourdais proves he is still among the best
Alexander Rossi grabs 3rd career Indy win
MORE HEADLINES Gold Membership
corner graphic
With a VI Gold Membership, you can SAVE 20% off Daily Pick packages, SAVE 10% off a Live Odds Pro subscription, and receive access to up to 1,000 Member Plays each month!
VI Gold Membership