VI Mobile Scores and Betting OddsVI Mobile Scores and Betting Odds Be Social
Fantasy Sports
Betting Tools

Odds & Ends - Phoenix
Phoenix International Raceway


-- Construction was completed in January 1964. The facility consisted of a one-mile oval and a 2.5-mile road course.
-- Alan Kulwicki won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Phoenix on Nov. 6, 1988.
-- The first spring race was held on April 23, 2005 and also the first night race, which was won by Kurt Busch.
-- The track underwent its first repave last year. The construction began in March and concluded in September of 2011.
-- The following changes were made during the construction period (March - Sept., 2011):
* Widened the frontstretch from 52 to 62 feet
* Reconfigured pit road with the installation of concrete pit stalls
* Pushed the dog-leg curve between Turn 2 and Turn 3 out 95 feet
* Tightened the turn radius of the dog-leg from 800 to 500 feet
* Implemented variable banking to ensure the immediate use of two racing grooves, including 10-11 degree banking between Turn 1 and Turn 2; 10-11 degree banking in the apex of the dog-leg; and 8-9 degree banking in Turn 4


-- There have been 32 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Phoenix International Raceway, one per season from 1988-2004 and two each season since.
-- Geoffrey Bodine won the first pole in 1988 at a speed of 123.203 mph (29.220 sec.).
-- There have been 19 different pole winners, led by Ryan Newman with four.
-- Ryan Newman, Jeff Gordon and Carl Edwards are the only drivers to win consecutive poles. Newman won three straight (2002-04), while Gordon won the fall of 2006 and spring of 2007, and Edwards won the fall of 2010 and spring of 2011.
-- There have been 23 different race winners, led by Jimmie Johnson, with four - ('07 fall, '08 sweep, '09 fall).
-- The race has been won from the pole four times: Jeff Gordon (spring 2007), Jimmie Johnson (fall 2008), Mark Martin (spring 2009) and Carl Edwards (fall 2010).
-- The race has been won from a top-10 starting position in 17 of 32 events.
-- Denny Hamlin (November, 2005) won his first career pole at Phoenix International Raceway.
-- Ricky Rudd won the 1995 race from the 29th-place starting position, the furthest back a race winner has started.
-- Matt Kenseth won the 2002 race from the 28th-place starting position, the furthest back an active race winner has started.
-- Mark Martin has 20 top-10 finishes, more than any other driver. Martin (9.0 average finish) is one of two active drivers who average a top-10 finish. Jimmie Johnson (5.2) is the other.
-- Two perfect Driver Ratings of 150.0 have been recorded at Phoenix, Kurt Busch in April of 2005 and Kevin Harvick in November of 2006.
-- Five drivers have won consecutive races at Phoenix: Davey Allison (1991,1992); Jeff Burton (2000, 2001); Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2003, 2004); Kevin Harvick (swept 2006); Jimmie Johnson is the only one of the five to win three consecutive races (fall 2007, swept 2008).
-- Hendrick Motorsports leads the series in wins at Phoenix with nine, followed by Roush Fenway Racing with six.
-- Of the seven drivers with multiple wins at Phoenix International Raceway, Mark Martin is the only driver to win in two different manufacturers: Ford (1993) and Chevrolet (2009).
-- Youngest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Texas Motor Speedway winner: Phoenix International Raceway winner:Kyle Busch (11/13/2005 - 20 years, 6 months, 11 days). Oldest NSCS Phoenix International Raceway winner:Mark Martin (4/18/2009 - 50 years, 3 months, 9 days).
-- Youngest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Phoenix International Raceway pole winner: Kyle Busch (4/22/2006 - 20 years, 11 months, 20 days). Oldest NSCS Phoenix International Raceway pole winner: Mark Martin (4/18/2009 - 53 years, 1 months, 24 days).

Phoenix International Raceway Data

Chase Race #: 9 of 10
Season Race #: 35 of 36 (11-11-12)
Track Size: 1-mile
Banking/Turns 1 & 2: 10 - 11 degrees
Banking/Turns 3 & 4: 8 - 9 degrees
Banking/Frontstretch: 3 degrees
Banking/Backstretch: 9 degrees
Frontstretch Length: 1,179 feet
Backstretch Length: 1,551 feet
Race Length: 312 laps / 500 Kilometers

Top 12 Driver Rating at Phoenix

Jimmie Johnson 118.4
Tony Stewart 100.4
Carl Edwards 99.7
Jeff Gordon 99.5
Kurt Busch 98.9
Denny Hamlin 98.8
Mark Martin 98.4
Kevin Harvick 97.5
Kyle Busch 96.9
Greg Biffle 93.3
Martin Truex Jr. 89.1
Ryan Newman 88.6

Note: Driver Ratings compiled from 2005-2012 races (15 total) among active drivers at Phoenix International Raceway

Qualifying/Race Data

2011 pole winner: Matt Kenseth, Ford, 137.101 mph, 26.258 sec., 11-11-11
2011 race winner: Kasey Kahne, Toyota, 112.918 mph, (2:45:47), 11-13-11
Track qualifying record: Carl Edwards, Ford, 137.279 mph, 26.244 sec., 2-26-11
Track race record: Tony Stewart, Pontiac, 118.132 mph, (2:38:28), 11-7-99

NASCAR in Arizona

-- There have been 36 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in Arizona.
-- 31 drivers in NASCAR national series history have their home state recorded as Arizona.
-- There have been no race winners from Arizona in NASCAR's three national series.

Roberts: Bass Pro Shops Preview
Driver Bourdais cleared to resume racing
John Andretti begins chemotherapy
Larson's weekend turned into a success
Danica to race with paint honoring Yates
Larson, Ganassi get top sponsor marks
Larson snatches another win at Michigan
Logano knows time is short for playoffs
NASCAR rookie Jones earns podium finish
MORE HEADLINES Gold Membership
corner graphic
With a VI Gold Membership, you can SAVE 10% off a Live Odds subscription, SAVE 20% off Daily Pick packages, and receive access to up to 1,000 Member Plays each month!
VI Gold Membership