User ID
Password
  Forgot User ID
or Register Today!
VegasInsider.com
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Google+ VI Mobile Scores and Betting Odds
Home
NFL
NBA
NHL
MLB
NCAA FB
NCAA BK
Soccer
Auto Racing
Horses
More
Betting Tools

 
Overton DQ'd for using putting aid

New Sportsbook.ag customers: Make your 1st bet, get your 2nd bet free, 100%, winnings paid in cash.
Join Now

Already have an account? Click here to view new Exclusive Rewards!

FORT WORTH, Texas (AP) - Jeff Overton expressed his frustration on Twitter about his disqualification midway through the third round of the Colonial for illegally using a putting aid after starting play.

Advertisement
With threesomes going off the No. 1 and 10 tees after the weather-suspended second round was completed earlier Saturday, there was a backup when Overton's group had completed the ninth hole. He went to a nearby putting green while waiting to tee off at No. 10.

Soon after coming off the course, Overton tweeted ``3 group back up at the turn. Rules official tells me we can practice chipping and putting. Disqualified for using my practice putting aid!''

Overton immediately followed that with another tweet, ``Why do rules officials initiate that conversation to begin with. I wouldn't even have gone up there if I had know that. What a joke!''

Going to a designated practice area is permissible during a round, but use of artificial or instructional devices isn't. The penalty is disqualification.

``If ur gonna inform someone on a rule of something a person can do, make sure u remind them of the small things they can't do,'' Overton added on (at)JeffOvertonPGA.

PGA Tour rules official Mark Russell said another player asked a scoring official about Overton's use of an alignment stick on the putting green. Russell said he wasn't sure if it was another golfer in Overton's group.

``We don't like to disqualify players. But that's what the rule says. We don't have a choice,'' said Russell, holding a rulebook in his hand. ``Yes, we hesitated a little bit.''

Overton, who was four under par and seven strokes behind the leader at the time, had already made a par on No. 10 and had just teed off at No. 11 when rules official John Mutch approached him. Mutch asked the golfer about the report that he had used the aid, and Overton confirmed that he had.

In the last of a series of four tweets after his disqualification, Overton said, ``Tough break today. Looks like I gotta go back and rememorize a couple hundred pages of the usga rules book!''

When he does, it was rule 14-3/10.3 cited by PGA Tour officials.

AP NEWS
The Associated Press News Service

Copyright 2014
The Associated Press
All Rights Reserved

  
HEADLINES
Tiger says strength back, not swing
Port advances in Senior Women's Am
Alan Fadel wins in US Senior Amateur
Wentworth sold to Chinese investors
Horschel caps amazing run with FedEx Cup
Rory McIlroy fades in season finale
Williams wins PGA Tour Canada finale
Paul Casey shoots 66 to win KLM Open
Kim beats Webb, wins Evian Championship
MORE HEADLINES
 
VegasInsider.com Gold Membership
  
corner graphic
With a VI Gold Membership, you can SAVE 10% off a Live Odds subscription, SAVE 20% off Daily Pick packages, and receive access to up to 1,000 Member Plays each month!
VI Daily Fantasy NFL Perfect Lineup Contest