User ID
Password
  Forgot User ID
or Register Today!
VegasInsider.com
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Google+ VI Mobile Scores and Betting Odds
Home
NFL
NBA
NHL
MLB
NCAA FB
NCAA BK
Soccer
Auto Racing
Horses
More
Betting Tools

 
Dyson faces hearing for violation

New Sportsbook.ag customers: Make your 1st bet, get your 2nd bet free, 100%, winnings paid in cash.
Join Now

Already have an account? Click here to view new Exclusive Rewards!

VIRGINIA WATER, England (AP) - Simon Dyson faces a disciplinary hearing over his disqualification for a rules violation last week at the BMW Masters.

Advertisement
Dyson was marking his golf ball on the eighth green at Lake Malaren in the second round when he quickly used the ball to tamp down the green in direct line of his short par putt. It was a clear violation of Rule 16-1a, which says a player cannot touch the line of his putt.

A television viewer noticed the infraction, and rules officials met with Dyson the next morning. He was tied for second, four shots out of the lead. Dyson was disqualified for not adding the two-shot penalty to his scorecard.

Under tour policy, a player faces a disciplinary hearing if it is determined after further study that a serious breach may have occurred. The hearing is to be within three weeks before a panel of an independent lawyer, a sports administrator and either a former European Tour player or a European Senior Tour player.

If he is found guilty of a breach, punishment can range from a reprimand to a fine, a suspension or expulsion from the tour.

In a statement released by his management company, Dyson said the violation was unintentional and he welcomed the hearing.

''I would like to say at this stage that I have never deliberately broken the rules either on this occasion or in the past,'' Dyson said. ''It was only after I was shown the replay of my action ... that I realized what I had done and that I was in breach. I immediately accepted that I should be disqualified.''

Dyson said it was ''in no way a deliberate act.''

''It was simply an accidental mistake which I have no reservations in apologizing for, and particularly to my fellow professionals and the tour for any inconvenience and embarrassment unintentionally caused,'' he said.

AP NEWS
The Associated Press News Service

Copyright 2014
The Associated Press
All Rights Reserved

  
HEADLINES
Tiger says strength back, not swing
Port advances in Senior Women's Am
Alan Fadel wins in US Senior Amateur
Wentworth sold to Chinese investors
Horschel caps amazing run with FedEx Cup
Rory McIlroy fades in season finale
Williams wins PGA Tour Canada finale
Paul Casey shoots 66 to win KLM Open
Kim beats Webb, wins Evian Championship
MORE HEADLINES
 
VegasInsider.com Gold Membership
  
corner graphic
With a VI Gold Membership, you can SAVE 10% off a Live Odds subscription, SAVE 20% off Daily Pick packages, and receive access to up to 1,000 Member Plays each month!
VI Daily Fantasy NFL Perfect Lineup Contest