User ID
Password
  Forgot User ID
or Register Today!
VegasInsider.com
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Google+ VI Mobile Scores and Betting Odds
Home
NFL
NBA
NHL
MLB
NCAA FB
NCAA BK
Golf
Auto
Soccer
Horses
More
Betting Tools

 
Confed Cup ref admits error in Italy game

New Sportsbook.ag customers: Make your 1st bet, get your 2nd bet free, 100%, winnings paid in cash.
Join Now

Already have an account? Click here to view new Exclusive Rewards!

RIO DE JANEIRO (AP) - FIFA says the referee who awarded Italy a goal after first whistling for a penalty in Saturday's match against Brazil acknowledges making the wrong call.

Advertisement
Referee Ravshan Irmatov blew his whistle to award Italy a penalty. Moments later, as play continued, Giorgio Chiellini scored. Irmatov was seen pointing at the penalty spot and then giving a goal.

FIFA spokesman Pekka Odriozola said: ``He has admitted he made a mistake.''

Irmatov is a widely respected referee from Uzbekistan who had been expected to have a chance to referee the Confederations Cup final. Now he is expected to be sent home with his assistants, who also made two key errors in Saturday's game.

Brazil won the match 4-2.

AP NEWS
The Associated Press News Service

Copyright 2015
The Associated Press
All Rights Reserved

  
HEADLINES
News: SBXLIX-Soccer Props
Order restored in FA Cup after upsets
Blatter goads UEFA for lack of courage
Belgium: Action sought after banner
West Ham, Villa win in 4th round of FA Cup
Guinea, Congo reach African quarters
Shocks aplenty in England's FA Cup
Bookmaker-funded campaign could breach
Yedlin added to US roster for exhibition
MORE HEADLINES
 
VegasInsider.com Gold Membership
  
corner graphic
With a VI Gold Membership, you can SAVE 10% off a Live Odds subscription, SAVE 20% off Daily Pick packages, and receive access to up to 1,000 Member Plays each month!
VI Daily Fantasy Sager Bomb