VI Mobile Scores and Betting OddsVI Mobile Scores and Betting Odds Be Social
Betting Tools

2013 WSOP Main Event
Final Table Preview
What began almost four months ago is set to conclude in less than a week, as the 2013 WSOP Main Event final table begins play on November 4th. The remaining nine players will all be eyeing the $8,361,570 top prize, which is the seventh largest payout in Main Event history.

This tournament started with 6,352 hopefuls, who were competing for a share of the $59,714,169 prize pool. 648 players cashed in the 2013 Main Event, which included a large list of notables. Some of the famed pros who cashed include the following:

Mike Watson (589th, $19,106), Humberto Brenes (584th, $19,106), Erik Seidel (560th, $21,495), Michael Mizrachi (473rd, $24,480), Isaac Haxton (455th, $24,480), James Bord (452nd, $24,480), Lauren Kling (387th, $28,063), Bertrand Grospellier (295th, $32,242), Ashton Griffin (118th, $50,752), Marvin Rettenmaier (99th, $59,708), Annette Obrestad (89th, $71,053), Noah Schwartz (52nd, $151,063). Vitaly Lunkin (46th, $151,063), Jackie Glazier (31st, $229,281), Yevgeniy Timoshenko (22nd, $285,408) and Carlos Mortensen (10th, $573,024).

Out of these players, Glazier and Mortensen really stood out. Glazier was noteworthy because her 31st-place finish made her the "Last Woman Standing" in the Main Event. As for Mortensen, he was gunning for his second Main Event title since he won in 2001 ($1.5 million). Unfortunately, the Spaniard ended up being the final table bubble boy.

Now that we've discussed what has already happened in the Main Event, let's take a closer look at the November Nine, available payouts, and some fun facts from previous Main Events.

2013 WSOP Main Event Final Table

1. JC Tran (USA), 38,000,000 chips - Tran has no doubt been the media darling in the months leading up to the final table. Not only he is the most established player and chip leader, but he's also earned mainstream headlines for his commitment to family. Tran has repeatedly said that, no matter how much money he wins, he wants to drastically reduce his time on the felt. With over $8 million in career tournament winnings already, Tran could double this number with a victory and go into early retirement if he so chooses.

2. Amir Lehavot (Israel), 29,700,000 chips - Lehavot is the second-most famous player on this final table. He won the 2011 WSOP $10k Pot-Limit Omaha Championship ($573,456) and has $2,344,677 in overall winnings. Over the summer, Lehavot became the first ME final table player to publicly sell shares of his action. He offered to sell 30% of his action to investors, and the minimum stake was $10k. Assuming he wins the $8.36 million top prize, investors could be in for a collective $2.5 million.

3. Marc-Etienne McLaughlin (Canada), 26,525,000 chips - McLaughlin is the first Canadian to make the final table in three years. And he may have some luck on his side because his good friend is Jonathan Duhamel, the 2010 WSOP Main Event champ. McLaughlin has now finished within the top 100 of the WSOP Main Event in three out of the past five years.

4. Jay Farber (USA), 25,975,000 chips - At first glance, Jay Farber seems like a total amateur player since he works full-time as a VIP host in Las Vegas. However, he's been playing live poker for years and has spent a great deal of time improving his game. With a recent 34th-place finish at the 2013 WSOPE Main Event (€20,250), Farber has even more experience under his belt.

5. Ryan Riess (USA), 25,875,000 chips - At 23 years old, Riess is the youngest player on this final table. He's a graduate of Michigan State University and brought plenty of his MSU buddies to Las Vegas during the Main Event. Prior to this tourney, Riess was known in some poker circles for finishing runner-up in the 2012 WSOP Circuit Horseshoe Chicago event ($239,063).

6. Sylvain Loosli (France), 19,600,000 chips - Loosli may be the least experienced out of any final table player when it comes to tournaments. However, this isn't to say that the Frenchman doesn't have poker skills. After all, he makes his living by exclusively playing high stakes cash games.

7. Michiel Brummelhuis (Netherlands), 11,275,000 chips - Brummelhuis is the only Dutch poker player to ever make a Main Event final table. And he's got the experience to represent his countrymen well in Vegas. Brummelhuis has almost $700k in career live tournament cashes and he finished fourth in the 2010 PCA High Roller ($154,350).

8. Mark Newhouse (USA), 7,350,000 chips - Mark Newhouse experienced poker success at a relatively young age after winning the 2006 WPT Borgata Poker Open and $1,519,020. Unfortunately, he suffered through some pretty bad bankroll management shortly thereafter and dropped out of the limelight. But the 27-year-old never gave up on poker and is back with a chance to win millions.

9. David Benefield (USA), 6,375,000 chips - Best known for his online poker play, David "Raptor" Benefield has won millions in online poker tournaments. Since making the 2013 WSOP Main Event final table, he's been grinding at the live tables a lot more. The nearly $600k that he's earned in live tourneys after reaching the final table is clear evidence of this.

Final Table Payouts

1st - $8,361,570
2nd - $5,174,357
3rd - $3,727,823
4th - $2,792,533
5th - $2,106,893
6th - $1,601,024
7th - $1,225,356
8th - $944,650
9th - $733,224

WSOP Main Event Fun Facts

Amateur Winner - Former amateur player Chris Moneymaker often gets credited for starting the "Poker Boom" with his 2003 WSOP Main Event victory. But Hal Fowler became the first amateur to win the Main Event, when he upset Bobby "The Wizard" Hoff heads-up to win the 1979 ME.

Three-Peaters - Johnny Moss and Stu Ungar are the only players to win three WSOP Main Event titles. Many consider Ungar to be the only legitimate winner, though, because details on Moss' first win are very murky.

Oh So Close - Johnny Chan almost joined Moss and Ungar, after winning the ME in 1987 and '88. However, he took runner-up to Phil Hellmuth in 1989, ending his bid for a three-peat.

Back to Back - Only Moss, Chan, Ungar and Doyle Brunson have won back-to-back Main Event titles. Due to the massive field sizes of today's ME tournaments, few people see this ever happening again.

Big and Small - Moss lays claim to the smallest winning prize in WSOP Main Event history; he earned $30,000 for winning the 1971 ME. Jamie Gold holds the record for the largest ME prize, as he collected $12 million for winning in 2012.

States may reject bet 'integrity fee'
Who will referee sports betting industry?
SCOTUS strikes down PASPA
SCOTUS makes sports betting possible
Expectations less on sports betting?
18 states may introduce sports betting
Marshall: Supreme Court to hear NJ
Olson: 2017 WSOP Main Event Recap
Legal NJ online poker pushes champ
Morning Line Report Gold Membership
corner graphic
With a VI Gold Membership, you can SAVE 20% off Daily Pick packages, SAVE 10% off a Live Odds Pro subscription, and receive access to up to 1,000 Member Plays each month!
VI Gold Membership