User ID
  Forgot User ID
or Register Today!
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Google+ VI Mobile Scores and Betting Odds
Betting Tools

Mystics' Thibault named WNBA Coach of the Year

New customers: Make your 1st bet, get your 2nd bet free, 100%, winnings paid in cash.
Join Now

Already have an account? Click here to view new Exclusive Rewards!

WASHINGTON (AP) - Talk about landing on your feet. In 10 months, Washington Mystics' Mike Thibault went from being fired to winning the WNBA's 2013 Coach of the Year, the league officially announced Saturday.

Thibault received 12 votes from a national panel of 39 media members. Seattle's Brian Agler and Chicago's Pokey Chatman each were one behind.

The WNBA's all-time leader in victories has won the award three times including 2006 and 2008 with Connecticut. The Sun let their longtime coach go in November after 10 seasons

``Last year I finished second and got fired, so I don't know,'' Thibault cracked when searching for answer about this honor compared to his previous awards. ``Maybe this is job security for a year?''That's a safe bet. Washington was 11-57 in the two years prior to his arrival including a league worst 5-29 in 2012.

On Thursday night, the Mystics won their first playoff game in nine years, routing No. 2 seed Atlanta on the road. This came after the third-seeded Mystics won 17 games in the regular season.

Thibault now matches Van Chancellor for the most ever in league history and joins San Antonio's Dan Hughes as the only coach to win the award with two different teams.

Only four players remained from last season's roster. Four rookies are part of the 2013 edition crafted by Thibault, who also serves as Washington's general manager.

``They had to buy in,'' Thibault said of his players. ``I was asking the veterans, the four that came back, to do things differently. ...I think that's best part of coaching in this business, see a team grow up right before your eyes.''

He received the award in Washington from WNBA president Laurel Richie before the Mystics faced Atlanta in the second game of the Eastern Conference semifinals.

Thibault received a career-altering call from Washington's ownership group shortly after the Sun let him go.

``About 10 months ago, I wasn't sure what I was going to do,'' Thibault said. ``Ted Leonsis and Sheila Johnson reached out and gave me an opportunity that was too good to pass up.''

Indiana's Lin Dunn received three votes. Tulsa's Gary Kloppenburg and Minnesota's Cheryl Reeve each had one vote.

The Associated Press News Service

Copyright 2016
The Associated Press
All Rights Reserved

News: WNBA Betting Recap: 5/23-5/29
Mercury grab first win, top Mystics
Sky top Wings 92-87, snap 4-game skid
McCoughtry, Dream beat Fever, 85-76
Peters' 4th quarter helps Stars edge Sky
Lynx build big lead early, hold off Fever
Mystics beat Storm in OT, 84-82
Sparks improve to 5-0, but Sun cover
White ready to speed up Vanderbilt
corner graphic
With a VI Gold Membership, you can SAVE 10% off a Live Odds subscription, SAVE 20% off Daily Pick packages, and receive access to up to 1,000 Member Plays each month!
VI Gold Membership