Get a sneak peek of the future VI! Try it now
Be Social on Youtube Bet Now

American Championship Game History

Playoff · AAC · ACC · Big Ten · Big 12 · C-USA · MAC · MWC · Pac-12 · SEC · BCS
The American Athletic Conference is the postseason title game for the conference, and it is held on the first Saturday in December. The 12-team league was divided equally into two divisions of six teams each, with the best conference record in each division meeting for the title.

The inaugural game held in 2015 was played in Houston as the University of Houston cruised past Temple to capture the conference title, while Temple rebounded in 2016 with a big win over favorite Navy. UCF finished off a perfect regular season by outlasting Memphis in the 2017 title game in double-overtime, 62-55. The Knights completed a second straight unblemished regular season mark in 2018 by rallying past Memphis, 56-41.

Memphis finally got over the hump after consecutive championship defeats by knocking off Cincinnati, 29-24. The Tigers are the fourth different team to win the AAC title and are the only club in the conference to make this championship game three times.

AAC Championship History
Year Location Matchup Line Score ATS Result
2019 Memphis, TN Cincinnati-Memphis Memphis -9 (59) Memphis 29-24 Underdog-Under
2018 Orlando, FL Memphis-UCF UCF -1 (65) UCF 56-41 Favorite-Over
2017 Orlando, FL Memphis-UCF UCF -6.5 (81.5) UCF 62-55 (2OT) Favorite-Over
2016 Annapolis, MD Temple-Navy Temple +2 (60) Temple 34-10 Underdog-Under
2015 Houston, TX Houston-Temple Houston -5.5 (53) Houston 24-13 Favorite-Under
corner graphic