Get a sneak peek of the future VI! Try it now
Be Social on Youtube Bet Now

Big 10 Championship Game History

Playoff · AAC · ACC · Big Ten · Big 12 · C-USA · MAC · MWC · Pac-12 · SEC · BCS
The Big Ten expanded to 12 teams prior to the 2011 season when Nebraska left the Big 12. That opened the door for a conference championship, which is played at Lucas Oil Field in Indianapolis. The conference welcomed Maryland and Rutgers in 2014.

Wisconsin won each of the first two Big Ten championships in the underdog role, beating Michigan State in 2011 and Nebraska in 2012. The Badgers claimed the "Leaders" division title both times, but the second instance was by default after Ohio State and Penn State were deemed ineligible for postseason play. After failing to cash as 9 ½-point favorites against Michigan State in 2011, the Badgers destroyed the Cornhuskers, 70-31 as short underdogs in 2012. The 'over' easily cashed both times, hitting by at least 25 points in the first two title games..

In 2014, Ohio State pulled off the first shutout in the history of Power 5 conference championships (55 games), throttling Wisconsin 59-0 despite being a four-point underdog.

Penn State captured the 2016 title game with a 38-31 win over Wisconsin. The Nittany Lions rallied from a 21-point deficit and outscored the Badgers 24-3 in the second half.

Ohio State became the first favorite to cover in the 2017 edition of this game by holding off Wisconsin, 27-21, while handing the Badgers their first loss of the season.

In 2018, the Buckeyes were able to cover as favorites for the second consecutive season, rolling to a conference title while dismissing Northwestern in their first-ever appearance in the big game. OSU pulled off its third straight Big 10 title as the Buckeyes rallied past Wisconsin, 34-21 in 2019, but failed to cash as 17-point favorites.

Underdogs are now 6-2-1 against the spread all-time in the Big Ten Championship and the 'over' is 6-3.

Big Ten Championship History
Year Location Matchup Line Score ATS Result
2019 Indianapolis, IN Ohio State-Wisconsin Ohio State -17 (57.5) Ohio State 34-21 Underdog-Under
2018 Indianapolis, IN Ohio State-Northwestern Ohio State -16.5 (63) Ohio State 45-24 Favorite-Over
2017 Indianapolis, IN Ohio State-Wisconsin Ohio State -3.5 (51) Ohio State 27-21 Favorite-Under
2016 Indianapolis, IN Penn State-Wisconsin Wisconsin -3 (45) Penn State 38-31 Underdog-Over
2015 Indianapolis, IN Iowa-Michigan State Michigan State -3 (50) Michigan State 16-13 Push-Under
2014 Indianapolis, IN Wisconsin-Ohio State Wisconsin -4 (54) Ohio State 59-0 Underdog-Over
2013 Indianapolis, IN Michigan State-Ohio State Ohio State -5.5 (53.5) Michigan State 34-24 Underdog-Over
2012 Indianapolis, IN Wisconsin-Nebraska Nebraska -2.5 (48) Wisconsin 70-31 Underdog-Over
2011 Indianapolis, IN Wisconsin-Michigan State Wisconsin -9.5 (56) Wisconsin 42-39 Underdog-Over
corner graphic