Find where to bet in your state! See Sportsbooks
Be Social on Youtube Bet Now

C-USA Championship Game History

AAC · ACC · Big 10 · Big 12 · C-USA · MAC · MWC · Pac-12 · SEC · SUN

The Conference USA Championship is the postseason title game for the conference. The conference currently has 14 teams that are divided equally into the East and West divisions.

The two division winners would meet on the home field of the team with the better overall record.

C-USA East

  • Charlotte 49ers
  • (FAU) Florida Atlantic Owls
  • (FIU) Florida International Golden Panthers
  • Marshall Thundering Herd
  • Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders
  • Old Dominion Monarchs
  • (WKU) Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

C-USA West

  • Louisiana Tech Bulldogs
  • North Texas Mean Green
  • Southern Mississippi Golden Eagles
  • Rice Owls
  • (UAB) Alabama-Birmingham Blazers
  • (UTEP) Texas-El Paso Miners
  • (UTSA) Texas-San Antonio Roadrunners
Conference USA Championship Betting History
Year Matchup Line (Total) Score ATS Result
2020 UAB at Marshall Marshall -5 (45) UAB 22-13 Underdog-Under
2019 UAB at FAU FAU -8 (49) FAU 49-6 Favorite-Over
2018 UAB at Middle Tenn Middle Tenn -1.5 (44) UAB 27-25 Underdog-Over
2017 North Texas at FAU FAU -10 (72) FAU 41-17 Favorite-Under
2016 Louisiana Tech at WKU WKU -12 (78.5) WKU 58-44 Favorite-Over
2015 Southern Miss at WKU WKU -7.5 (76.5) WKU 45-28 Favorite-Under
2014 La Tech at Marshall Marshall -9 (68.5) Marshall 26-23 Underdog-Under
2013 Marshall at Rice Marshall -6.5 (65) Rice 41-24 Underdog-Push
2012 Central Florida at Tulsa Tulsa -2.5 (55) Tulsa 33-27 (OT) Favorite-Over
2011 Southern Miss at Houston Houston -12.5 (73) Southern Miss 49-28 Underdog-Over
2010 SMU at Central Florida Central Florida -7.5 (55.5) Central Florida 17-7 Favorite-Under
2009 Houston at East Carolina Houston -2 (68.5) East Carolina 38-32 Underdog-Over
2008 East Carolina at Tulsa Tulsa -12.5 (66) East Carolina 27-24 Underdog-Under
2007 Tulsa at Central Florida Central Florida -7.5 (73.5) Central Florida 44-25 Underdog-Under
2006 Southern Miss at Houston Houston -5 (52) Houston 34-20 Favorite-Over
2005 Tulsa at Central Florida Tulsa -3 (56.5) Tulsa 44-27 Favorite-Over

Conference USA Betting History Results & Notes

Betting Results - Favorites vs. Underdogs - Total (Over-Under)
Wager Straight Up (SU) Against the Spread (ATS) Total (Over-Under)
Results 10-6 8-8 8-7-1

History - Betting Notes

  • Favorites have won and covered four of the last six CUSA championships
  • The home school has gone 11-5 in the CUSA title game
  • The East Division hold a 10-6 edge all-time
  • Nine of the 14 current schools have played in the CUSA title game
  • Only six CUSA schools have won the championship

Conference USA Championship Historical Notes

The inaugural game took place in 2005 from Orlando, Florida with Tulsa defeating Central Florida 44-27 as a three-point road favorite.

In 2011, Southern Mississippi knocked off Houston as a 12 ½-point road underdog, which was tied for the largest upset in C-USA championship history.

In 2008, East Carolina stunned Tulsa 27-24 with the same point-spread.

In 2016, Western Kentucky became the first team since East Carolina (2008-09) to win back-to-back Conference USA titles, rolling past Louisiana Tech in the highest-scoring championship game in league history with 102 total points.

FAU routed North Texas in 2017 for its first-ever C-USA title, then won it again two seasons later with a home rout of UAB. The Blazers were looking to complete the repeat as they won the C-USA Championship in 2018.

UAB rebounded from a blowout loss to FAU in 2019 to knock off Marshall in the 2020 installment of the C-USA title game, 22-13. The Blazers became the first ever team to play in three straight C-USA championships.

corner graphic