Get a sneak peek of the future VI! Try it now
Be Social on Youtube Bet Now

Mountain West Championship Game History

Playoff · AAC · ACC · Big Ten · Big 12 · C-USA · MAC · MWC · Pac-12 · SEC · BCS
The Mountain West Conference Championship pits the top teams from the Mountain and West divisions up against one another in the title game. Prior to the conference expanding to 12 schools in 2013, the champion was determined by regular season record. The venue for this matchup is determined by the division winner with the highest College Football Playoff ranking.

Bettors watched the first inaugural MWC Championship in 2013 as Fresno State defeated Utah State 24-17 at Bulldog Stadium from Fresno, California. In 2014, Boise State defeated Fresno State 28-14 from Albertson Stadium in Boise, Idaho.

In 2016, San Diego State racked up its second consecutive Mountain West Conference title with a 27-24 win at Wyoming, avenging a one-point loss just two weeks ago on the same field in Laramie. It was the Aztecs first back-to-back conference championships in 42 years.

In 2017, Boise State picked up its second win in the Mountain West championship game by edging Fresno State, 17-14 as an underdog cashed for the fourth straight season in this contest.

However, Fresno State turned the tables in snowy Boise in 2018, earning a 19-16 win in overtime against the Broncos. The Bulldogs entered the game with 10 consecutive losses on the 'Smurf Turf', last winning in Boise back on Sept. 8, 1984 when the Broncos had a green field.

Boise State played in its third consecutive MWC championship as the Broncos cruised past Hawaii, 31-10 marking the first cover by a favorite since 2013.

The ‘under’ has gone 6-1 in the first seven MWC title games.

Mountain West Championship History
Year Location Matchup Line Score ATS Result
2019 Boise, ID Hawaii-Boise State Boise State -14 (65) Boise State 31-10 Favorite-Under
2018 Boise, ID Fresno State-Boise State Boise State -1.5 (51) Fresno State 19-16 (OT) Underdog-Under
2017 Boise, ID Fresno State-Boise State Boise State -9.5 (51) Boise State 17-14 Underdog-Under
2016 Laramie, WY Wyoming-San Diego State San Diego State -7 (58) San Diego State 27-24 Underdog-Under
2015 San Diego, CA San Diego State-Air Force San Diego State -4 (46.5) San Diego State 27-24 Underdog-Over
2014 Boise, ID Boise State-Fresno State Boise State -24 (70) Boise State 28-14 Underdog-Under
2013 Fresno, CA Fresno State-Utah State Fresno State -2.5 (61.5) Fresno State 24 Utah State 17 Favorite-Under

corner graphic