Be Social on Youtube Bet Now

World Series of Poker - Past Winners


What is the World Series of Poker

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is a series of poker tournaments that originated in 1969 and started in 1970. The event takes place annually in Las Vegas, Nevada from Rio Hotel and Casino.

The "Main Event" is considered the most prestigious tournament and it gives one player the unofficial title of World Champion. Hossein Ensan captured the main event in 2019, outlasting 8,5694 entries. Ensan walked away with $10,000,000.

World Series of Poker Main Event Winners

Johnny Moss captured the inaugural event in 1970 and he also won the 1971 event and then again in 1974. Along with Moss, Stu Unger is the only other poker player to win the WSOP main event three times (1980, 1981, 1997). Both individuals are now deceased.

Doyle Brunson and Johnny Chan are the only two other poker players to win the event in consecutive years. Brunson did so in 1976 and '77 while Chan came just over 10 years later in 1986 and '87.

2019 World Series of Poker Champion

Hossein Ensan, a The 55-year-old native of Iran who immigrated to Germany 30 years ago, captured the 50th World Series of Poker Main Event in 2019.

Ensan walked away with the coveted WSOP gold bracelet and $10 million in prize money. It was the first time in 27 years a native Iranian has won.

WSOP Main Event Winners

Year Player
2019 Hossein Ensan
2018 John Cynn
2017 Scott Blumstein
2016 Qui Nguyen
2015 Joe McKeehen
2014 Martin Jacobson
2013 Ryan Riess
2012 Greg Merson
2011 Pius Heinz
2010 Jonathan Duhamel
2009 Joe Cada
2008 Peter Eastgate
2007 Jerry Yang
2006 Jamie Gold
2005 Joseph Hachem
2004 Greg Raymer
2003 Chris Moneymaker
2002 Robert Varkyoni
2001 Carlos Mortensen
2000 Chris Ferguson
1999 Noel Furlong
1998 Scotty Nguyen
1997 Stu Unger
1996 Huck Seed
1995 Dan Harrington
1994 Russ Hamilton
1993 Jim Bechtel
1992 Hamid Datsmalchi
1991 Brad Daugherty
1990 Mansour Matloubi
1989 Phil Hellmuth
1988 Johnny Chan
1987 Johnny Chan
1986 Berry Johnston
1985 Bill Smith
1984 Jack Keller
1983 Tom McEvoy
1982 Jack Straus
1981 Stu Ungar
1980 Stu Ungar
1979 Hal Fowler
1978 Bobby Baldwin
1977 Doyle Brunson
1976 Doyle Brunson
1975 Sailor Roberts
1974 Johnny Moss
1973 Puggy Pearson
1972 Amarillo 'Slim' Preston
1971 Johnny Moss
1970 Johnny Moss
corner graphic