User ID
  Forgot User ID
or Register Today!
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Google+ VI Mobile Scores and Betting Odds
Betting Tools

Taylor, Angelelli win Grand-Am finale, title

New customers: Make your 1st bet, get your 2nd bet free, 100%, winnings paid in cash.
Join Now

Already have an account? Click here to view new Exclusive Rewards!

LAKEVILLE, Conn. (AP) - Jordan Taylor and Max Angelelli won the final Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series Daytona Prototype season championship, racing to their third straight victory Saturday.

Driving the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP, Taylor took the lead for good with 69 laps remaining in the 173-lap event at Lime Rock Park and was never seriously challenged en route to a 5-second victory over Gustavo Yacaman in the No. 6 Michael Shank Racing Ford/Riley.

The race closed the 14th and final Grand-Am season. The series is merging with the American Le Mans Series next year to form the United SportsCar Championship.

Taylor won the championship for the first time, while Angelelli also won the Daytona Prototype title driving with team owner Wayne Taylor, Jordan's father.

``It all came down to the team,'' Jordan Taylor said. ``Every time we won a race came down to the line, they got us out of the pits with great track position. All we had to do was keep everyone behind us.''

Yacaman co-drove to the runner-up spot with IndyCar veteran Justin Wilson.

Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, who had won the three previous Daytona Prototype driver championships, finished third in the No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing BMW/Riley. Chip Ganassi Racing won the Daytona Prototype team championship ahead of Wayne Taylor Racing, but Pruett and Rojas fell short, as neither scored points at Detroit in June due to an opening-lap incident with Yacaman.

Eric Curran and Lawson Aschenbach took the GT class victory in the No. 31 Marsh Racing Corvette, while Alessandro Balzan won the GT championship in the No. 63 Ferrari. The GX class race victory went to Tom Long and Sylvain Tremblay in the No. 70 Mazda, with Jim Norman earning class championship honors in the No. 38 Porsche.

The race closed out the 14th and final Grand-Am season. The series is merging with the American Le Mans Series next year to form the United SportsCar Championship.

The Associated Press News Service

Copyright 2016
The Associated Press
All Rights Reserved

Roberts: Coca-Cola 600 Preview
Sportsbook: Drivers to Watch - Charlotte
Rossi pulls off upset in 100th Indy 500
Hamlin wins Charlotte Xfinity race
Logano looks to continue dominance
Penske muses on driving Indy pace car
F1 halo device close to being implemented
Ricciardo all smiles at Monaco GP
Larson looks for first win at Charlotte
MORE HEADLINES Gold Membership
corner graphic
With a VI Gold Membership, you can SAVE 10% off a Live Odds subscription, SAVE 20% off Daily Pick packages, and receive access to up to 1,000 Member Plays each month!
VI Gold Membership