VI Mobile Scores and Betting OddsVI Mobile Scores and Betting Odds Be Social
Betting Tools

Odds & Ends - Texas
Texas Motor Speedway


-- Construction began in 1995.
-- The first NASCAR race was a NASCAR Nationwide Series event on April 5, 1997.
-- The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was on April 6, 1997.


-- There have been 23 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Texas Motor Speedway, one per season from 1997 through 2004 and two races per year since 2005.
-- Four drivers have competed in all 22 Texas races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Mark Martin.
-- Jeremy Mayfield was the first pole winner, in 1998. Qualifying for the inaugural race in 1997 was canceled.
-- Jeff Burton won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race.
-- 16 drivers have scored poles, led by Dale Earnhardt Jr., Bobby Labonte, Ryan Newman, Jeff Gordon andMartin Truex Jr. with two.
-- 16 drivers have won races, led by Carl Edwards, with three. Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth, Tony Stewart, Jeff Burton and Greg Biffle each have two wins.
-- 17 of 23 races have been won from a top-10 starting position. Only one has been won from the pole - Kasey Kahne in 2006.
-- Matt Kenseth started 31st en route to his victory at Texas in 2002, the deepest in the field that a race winner has started.
-- Both Jeff Burton (1999) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2000) scored their first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win at Texas, and 2011 Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne made his first series start at Texas (11/07/10).
-- Martin Truex Jr. (11/04/07) and David Ragan (04/09/11) scored their first series poles at Texas.
-- Matt Kenseth (8.6) and Jimmie Johnson (9.7) are the only active drivers to average a top-10 finish at Texas.
-- Jimmie Johnson (9.2) is the only active driver to average a top-10 starting position at Texas.
-- Roush Fenway Racing leads all owners in victories, with nine. Joe Gibbs Racing and Hendrick Motorsportshave three wins each.
-- There has been two season sweeps, by Carl Edwards in 2008 and Denny Hamlin in 2010.
-- Youngest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Texas Motor Speedway winner: Ryan Newman (3/30/2003 - 25 years, 3 months, 22 days). Oldest NSCS Texas Motor Speedway winner: Dale Jarrett (4/1/2001 - 44 years, 4 months, 6 days).
-- Youngest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Texas Motor Speedway pole winner: Brian Vickers (11/5/2006 - 23 years, 0 months, 12 days). Oldest NSCS Texas Motor Speedway pole winner: Bill Elliott (4/8/2002 - 46 years, 6 months, 0 days).

Texas Motor Speedway Data

Chase Race #: 8 of 10
Season Race #: 34 of 36 (11-04-12)
Track Size: 1.5-mile
Banking/Turns: 24 degrees
Banking/Straights: 5 degrees
Frontstretch Length: 2,250 feet
Backstretch Length: 1,330 feet
Race Length: 334 laps / 501 miles

Top 12 Driver Rating at Texas

Matt Kenseth 107.2
Greg Biffle 103.3
Tony Stewart 102.5
Jimmie Johnson 100.6
Carl Edwards 99.2
Kyle Busch 96.8
Denny Hamlin 94.6
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 92.8
Jeff Gordon. 91.3
Clint Bowyer 90.9
Mark Martin 89.0
Kurt Busch 89.0

Note: Driver Ratings compiled from 2005-2012 races (15 total) among active drivers at Texas Motor Speedway

Qualifying/Race Data

2011 pole winner: Greg Biffle, Ford, 193.736 mph, 27.873 sec., 11-04-11
2011 race winner: Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 152.705 mph, (3:10:51), 11-06-11
Track qualifying record: Brian Vickers, Chevrolet, 196.235 mph, 27.518 sec., 11-05-06
Track race record: Greg Biffle, Ford, 160.577 mph, (3:07:12), 04-14-12

NASCAR in Texas

-- There have been 32 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in Texas.
-- 76 drivers in NASCAR's three national series (all-time) have their home state recorded as Texas.
-- There have been nine race winners from Texas in NASCAR's three national series:

Roberts: STP 500 Preview
Roberts: Top-Five Predictions
IndyCar inks media rights deal with NBC
Mann returns to Dale Coyne for 500
Martin Truex Jr. wins Auto Club 400
Crampton wins NHRA Gatornationals
Harvick's four-peat chances hurt early
Derani drives Nissan to victory in Sebring
Logano cruises to Xfinity win at Fontana
MORE HEADLINES Gold Membership
corner graphic
With a VI Gold Membership, you can SAVE 20% off Daily Pick packages, SAVE 10% off a Live Odds Pro subscription, and receive access to up to 1,000 Member Plays each month!
VI Gold Membership