WNBA Finals History

WNBA Finals (1997-2023)

The WNBA Finals takes place in the fall as two of the final 12 teams square off in a best-of-five series with the first club to three wins being declared the champion.

In 2023, the Las Vegas Aces became the first WNBA team in 21 years to capture back-to-back WNBA Finals.

The Aces defeated the Liberty 3-1 in the best-of-five series and A'ja Wilson captured the WNBA Finals Most Valuable Player award.

The Minnesota Lynx have had made the most appearances in the WNBA Finals with six and the Lynx have gone 4-2 in those championship series.

Tied with the Lynx for the most WNBA Finals Championships at four are Houston and Seattle, who both own 4-0 records in the finals.

Listed below are the winners and betting results from the WNBA Finals between 1997 and 2021, along with the MVP for each series too.

The Las Vegas Aces celebrated their 2023 championship over New York. (Getty)

WNBA Finals Betting History & Results

YearWinnerLoserSeries ResultMVP
2023Las Vegas AcesNew York Liberty3-1A'ja Wilson
2022Las Vegas AcesConnecticut Sun3-1Chelsea Gray
2021Chicago SkyPhoenix Mercury3-1Kahleah Copper 
2020Seattle StormLas Vegas Aces3-0Breanna Stewart, Seattle
2019Washington MysticsConnecticut Sun3-2Emma Meesseman, Connecticut
2018Seattle StormWashington Mystics3-0Breanna Stewart, Seattle
2017Minnesota LynxLos Angeles Sparks3-2Sylvia Fowles , Minnesota
2016Los Angeles SparksMinnesota Lynx3-2Candace Parker, Los Angeles
2015Minnesota LynxIndiana Fever3-2Sylvia Fowles , Minnesota
2014Phoenix MercuryChicago Sky3-0Diana Taurasi, Phoenix
2013Minnesota LynxAtlanta Dream3-0Maya Moore, Minnesota
2012Indiana FeverMinnesota Lynx3-1Tamika Catchings, Indiana
2011Minnesota LynxAtlanta Dream3-0Seimone Augustus, Minnesota
2010Seattle StormAtlanta Dream3-0Lauren Jackson, Seattle
2009Phoenix MercuryIndiana Fever3-2Diana Taurasi, Phoenix
2008Detroit ShockSan Antonio Silver Stars3-0Katie Smith, Detroit
2007Phoenix MercuryDetroit Shock3-2Cappie Poindexter, Phoenix
2006Detroit ShockSacramento Monarchs3-1Deanna Nolan, Detroit
2005Sacramento MonarchsConnecticut Sun3-1Yolanda Griffith, Sacramento
2004Seattle StormConnecticut Sun2-1Betty Lennox, Seattle
2003Detroit ShockLos Angeles Sparks2-1Ruth Riley, Detroit
2002Los Angeles SparksNew York Liberty2-0Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles
2001Los Angeles SparksCharlotte Sting2-0Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles
2000Houston CometsNew York Liberty2-0Cynthia Cooper, Houston
1999Houston CometsNew York Liberty2-1Cynthia Cooper, Houston
1998Houston CometsPhoenix Mercury2-1Cynthia Cooper, Houston
1997Houston CometsNew York Liberty1-0Cynthia Cooper, Houston