become a free member

Last Updated May 02, 2022, 5:12 PM


American LeagueNational League
East DivisionEast Division
Baltimore OriolesAtlanta Braves
Boston Red SoxMiami Marlins
New York YankeesNew York Mets
Tampa Bay RaysPhiladelphia Phillies
Toronto Blue JaysWashington Nationals
Central DivisionCentral Division
Chicago White SoxChicago Cubs
Cleveland GuardiansCincinnati Reds
Detroit TigersMilwaukee Brewers
Kansas City RoyalsPittsburgh Pirates
Minnesota TwinsSt. Louis Cardinals
West DivisionWest Division
Houston AstrosArizona Diamondbacks
Los Angeles AngelsColorado Rockies
Oakland AthleticsLos Angeles Dodgers
Seattle MarinersSan Diego Padres
Texas RangersSan Francisco Giants

There are 32 teams in Major League Baseball and they are divided equally with 15 teams into different conferences, which are called the American League and National League. The two leagues are more commonly known as the AL and NL. Each league is made up of three divisions with five teams in each group.


Not a lot of traveling when these five teams get together as all of them are located in the Northeast part of the United States while the Toronto Blue Jays are just a short trip to Canada. The Blue Jays are the only MLB American League Team playing outside of the U.S. The largest rivalry among all MLB Teams takes place in this division and it’s between the New York Yankees and Boston Red Sox.


  • Baltimore Orioles
  • Boston Red Sox
  • New York Yankees
  • Tampa Bay Rays
  • Toronto Blue Jays


Lot of history in this group and a lot of winners too as all five teams have one at least two World Series titles in their franchise history. The last team out of this five to do so was the Kansas City Royals, who were world champions in 2015.

  • Chicago White Sox
  • Cleveland Guardians
  • Detroit Tigers
  • Kansas City Royals
  • Minnesota Twins


This group has two teams located in both California and Texas while the Seattle Mariners are based out of Washington. The Pacific Time Zone is used for the West Coast trip while the Lone Star State teams play in the Central Time Zone. Seattle plays at T-Mobile Park and that facility has a retractable roof that is used to deter inclement weather.

  • Houston Astros
  • Los Angeles Angels
  • Oakland Athletics
  • Seattle Mariners
  • Texas Rangers



The NL East has all five teams located on the East Coast and three teams reside in the Northeast part of the United States while the Atlanta Braves and Miami Marlins are located in the Southeast portion. The Mets and Phillies have the most history in this division while the Marlins switched from Florida to Miami in the 2012 regular season after a stadium move. Marlins Park is one of six retractable roof venues in the MLB.

The Nationals have been in Washington since 2005 and they were the Montreal Expos prior to that move.

  • Atlanta Braves
  • Miami Marlins
  • New York Mets
  • Philadelphia Phillies
  • Washington Nationals


The Cubs, Brewers and Cardinals all play in the Central Time Zone while the Reds and Pirates reside in the Eastern Time Zone. This group has some great rivalry matchups and the Cubs are involved in two of them against the Cardinals and Brewers.

  • Chicago Cubs
  • Cincinnati Reds
  • Milwaukee Brewers
  • Pittsburgh Pirates
  • St. Louis Cardinals


Three of the five teams in this division are located in California and all play in the Pacific Time Zone. Arizona and Colorado are on Mountain Time Zone for most of the summer. The Diamondbacks have the option of playing indoor or outdoor as their venue of Chase Field has a retractable roof, which comes in handy during the hot summer months.

  • Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Colorado Rockies
  • Los Angeles Dodgers
  • San Diego Padres
  • San Francisco Giants

MLB News