College Football Teams


American Athletic Conference

Army Black Knights
Charlotte 49ers
East Carolina Pirates
Florida Atlantic Owls
Memphis Tigers
Navy Midshipmen
North Texas Mean Green
Rice Owls
South Florida Bulls
Temple Owls
Tulane Green Wave
Tulsa Golden Hurricane
Texas-San Antonio Roadrunners
UAB Blazers

Atlantic Coast Conference

Boston College Eagles
California Golden Bears
Clemson Tigers
Duke Blue Devils
Florida State Seminoles
Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
Louisville Cardinals
Miami-Florida Hurricanes
North Carolina Tar Heels
North Carolina State Wolfpack
Pittsburgh Panthers
Southern Methodist Mustangs
Stanford Cardinal
Syracuse Orange
Virginia Cavaliers
Virginia Tech Hokies
Wake Forest Demon Deacons

Big 12 Conference

Arizona Wildcats
Arizona State Sun Devils
Baylor Bears
Brigham Young Cougars
Central Florida Knights
Cincinnati Bearcats
Colorado Buffaloes
Houston Cougars
Iowa State Cyclones
Kansas Jayhawks
Kansas State Wildcats
Oklahoma State Cowboys
Texas Christian Horned Frogs
Texas Tech Red Raiders
Utah Utes
West Virginia Mountaineers

Big Ten Conference

Illinois Fighting Illini
Indiana Hoosiers
Iowa Hawkeyes
Maryland Terrapins
Michigan Wolverines
Michigan State Spartans
Minnesota Golden Gophers
Nebraska Cornhuskers
Northwestern Wildcats
Ohio State Buckeyes
Oregon Ducks
Penn State Nittany Lions
Purdue Boilermakers
Rutgers Scarlet Knights
Southern California Trojans
UCLA Bruins
Washington Huskies
Wisconsin Badgers

Conference USA

FIU Panthers
Jacksonville State Gamecocks
Kennesaw State Owls
Liberty Flames
Louisiana Tech Bulldogs
Middle Tennessee State Blue Raiders
New Mexico State Aggies
Sam Houston State Bearkats
Texas-El Paso Miners
Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

Independents (FBS)

Connecticut Huskies
Massachusetts Minutemen
Notre Dame Fighting Irish

Mid-American Athletic Conference

Akron Zips
Ball State Cardinals
Bowling Green State Falcons
Buffalo Bulls
Central Michigan Chippewas
Eastern Michigan Eagles
Kent State Golden Flashes
Miami-Ohio Redhawks
Northern Illinois Huskies
Ohio Bobcats
Toledo Rockets
Western Michigan Broncos

Mountain West Conference

Air Force Falcons
Boise State Broncos
Colorado State Rams
Fresno State Bulldogs
Hawaii Warriors
Nevada Wolf Pack
New Mexico Lobos
San Diego State Aztecs
San Jose State Spartans
UNLV Rebels
Utah State Aggies
Wyoming Cowboys

Pacific-12 Conference

Oregon State Beavers
Washington State Cougars

Southeastern Conference

Alabama Crimson Tide
Arkansas Razorbacks
Auburn Tigers
Florida Gators
Georgia Bulldogs
Kentucky Wildcats
Louisiana State Tigers
Mississippi Rebels
Mississippi State Bulldogs
Missouri Tigers
Oklahoma Sooners
South Carolina Gamecocks
Tennessee Volunteers
Texas Longhorns
Texas A&M Aggies
Vanderbilt Commodores

Sun Belt Conference

Appalachian State Mountaineers
Arkansas State Red Wolves
Coastal Carolina Chanticleers
Georgia Southern Eagles
Georgia State Panthers
James Madison Dukes
Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin Cajuns
Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks
Marshall Thundering Herd
Old Dominion Monarchs
South Alabama Jaguars
Southern Miss Golden Eagles
Texas State Bobcats
Troy Trojans

Planning to wager on college football? Ensure you have the BetMGM bonus code to maximize your bets. Use VIBONUS1600 during sign-up to get an awesome welcome bonus when betting on College Football this season: Exclusive Offer: Get a 20% Deposit Match up to $1,600 in Sports Bonus!.

College Football Conference Teams

Keeping a pulse on all College Football Conference Teams isn’t easy since the number continues to grow. Currently, the College Football Bowl Subdivision or FBS has 130 Division 1 Teams and while that seems impossible to follow, those schools are divided into 10 conferences.

For College Football Conference enthusiasts, there are plenty of other teams to follow in the Football Championship Subdivision. Those 120-plus teams go by FCS schools and they fall into 13 conferences. The difference in levels between the FBS and FCS can be defined as a few things but money or funds allocated to the football programs is the key factor. The smaller schools in the FCS offer less scholarships to their universities and don’t depend on those programs to fund the athletic program. The FBS football programs are normally the pipeline for revenue, since the television deals help each school.

Talent, both with coaching and players, is another difference between the two levels and depth since the FCS only provides 63 student-athlete scholarships while the FBS has 85 full-rides.

It’s very common to see FCS and FBS schools meet during the regular season, and sometimes those games are referred to as cupcake matchups since the point-spreads are much higher than normal. If the FCS does have an advantage, they determine their champion on the field with a single elimination tournament while the FBS has four teams chosen subjectively in the College Football Playoff.


The College Football Playoff crowns the top team each season and we always see the winner come from a “Power Five” conference. These 64 schools have strong following and the alumni for each football program supports their teams throughout the season and in bowl or playoff games.


  • ACC
  • Big Ten
  • Big 12
  • Pac-12
  • SEC


Every now and then, we’ll see a Group of Five school make some noise with an undefeated record. These teams aren’t always listed as underdogs to the Power Five, sometimes they’re favored. Notable Group of Five schools that get notice on the national stage are Central Florida and Boise State.

  • American Athletic
  • Conference USA
  • Mid-American (MAC)
  • Mountain West
  • Sun Belt

There is also another group of teams that aren’t affiliated with a conference and they fall into the Independent category. Notre Dame Fighting Irish is the most prestigious of this group and some old-school pundits will tell you that it’s still nationally recognized as the top College Football Team just based on reputation.

  • Liberty
  • Massachusetts
  • Notre Dame

Ready to place a bet on college football action? Use our FanDuel North Carolina promo code to get bonus bets and more.