Get a sneak peek of the future VI! Try it now
Be Social on Youtube Bet Now

NHL Teams

Eastern Conference Western Conference
Atlantic Division Central Division
Boston Bruins Chicago Blackhawks
Buffalo Sabres Colorado Avalanche
Detroit Red Wings Dallas Stars
Florida Panthers Minnesota Wild
Montreal Canadiens Nashville Predators
Ottawa Senators St. Louis Blues
Tampa Bay Lightning Winnipeg Jets
Toronto Maple Leafs  
Metropolitan Division Pacific Division
Carolina Hurricanes Anaheim Ducks
Columbus Blue Jackets Arizona Coyotes
New Jersey Devils Calgary Flames
New York Islanders Edmonton Oilers
New York Rangers Los Angeles Kings
Philadelphia Flyers San Jose Sharks
Pittsburgh Penguins Vancouver Canucks
Washington Capitals Vegas Golden Knights

NHL Eastern Conference Teams

The NHL Eastern Conference consists of 16 teams, divided into two divisions. Those divisions are called the Atlantic and Metropolitan Division.

Savvy NHL bettors are well aware of the NHL term called the “Original Six” and that term is used to define the group of six teams that first made up the NHL.

Five of the six teams from the “Original Six” are from the NHL Eastern Conference and they include the Boston Bruins, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers and the Toronto Maple Leafs.

The Red Wings used to play in the Western Conference but as part of the NHL’s realignment, the club was moved to the Western Conference in the 2013-14 regular season.

Atlantic Division

  • Boston Bruins
  • Buffalo Sabres
  • Detroit Red Wings
  • Florida Panthers
  • Montreal Canadiens
  • Ottawa Senators
  • Tampa Bay Lightning
  • Toronto Maple Leafs

Metropolitan Division

  • Carolina Hurricanes
  • Columbus Blue Jackets
  • New Jersey Devils
  • New York Islanders
  • New York Rangers
  • Philadelphia Flyers
  • Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Washington Capitals

NHL Western Conference Teams

Similar to the Eastern Conference, the NHL Western Conference has two divisions as well and they are called the Pacific and Central. The difference in the NHL Western Conference is that it only has 15 teams. The latest team to join the NHL was the Vegas Golden Knights, who entered the league in the 2017-18 season as a new franchise.

The NHL Western Conference features one team from the “Original Six” and that’s the Chicago Blackhawks.

Pacific Division

  • Anaheim Ducks
  • Arizona Coyotes
  • Calgary Flames
  • Edmonton Oilers
  • Los Angeles Kings
  • San Jose Sharks
  • Vancouver Canucks
  • Vegas Golden Knights

Central Division

  • Chicago Blackhawks
  • Colorado Avalanche
  • Dallas Stars
  • Minnesota Wild
  • Nashville Predators
  • St. Louis Blues
  • Winnipeg Jets

The NHL Western Conference will get to 16 teams in the 2020-21 regular season when the league welcomes a future team from Seattle to the mix.

corner graphic