IOWA Odds: Schedule, Matchups, & Stats

Next Matchup

August 31, 2024 12:00 PM ET BTN
Illinois State

Iowa Schedule

Date Opp Close Result ATS/OU
Aug 31, 2024 Illinois State - / 12:00 PM ET
Sep 7, 2024 Iowa State -3 / 3:30 PM ET
Sep 14, 2024 Troy - / 4:00 PM ET
Sep 21, 2024 @Minnesota - / 12:00 AM ET
Oct 5, 2024 @Ohio State - / 12:00 AM ET
Oct 12, 2024 Washington - / 12:00 AM ET
Oct 19, 2024 @Michigan State - / 12:00 AM ET
Oct 26, 2024 Northwestern - / 3:30 PM ET
Nov 2, 2024 Wisconsin - / 12:00 AM ET
Nov 8, 2024 @UCLA - / 10:00 PM ET
Nov 23, 2024 @Maryland - / 1:00 AM ET
Nov 29, 2024 Nebraska - / 8:30 PM ET

Betting on the Iowa Hawkeyes

As long-time members of the Big Ten, the Iowa Hawkeyes have grown into a big time football program on the national level. Betting on the Hawkeyes during football season is also a big draw at in-state retail and online sportsbooks.

Iowa Hawkeyes Team Overview

Iowa University in Iowa City has a long tradition of football that dates all the way back to 1899. The Hawkeyes went 8-0-1 that season as Independents before joining the Western Conference the following year.

Formally known as the Intercollegiate Conference of Faculty Representatives, the Western Conference was formed in 1895. This was the first college football conference in the history of the sport. 

The Western Conference also laid the groundwork for the formation of the Big Ten in 1953. As a charter member of that conference, Iowa went 5-3-1 that season and it was the No. 9 ranked team in the nation.

The Hawkeyes went on to win the Rose Bowl in 1956 and 1958 with Forest Evashevski as head coach. They were named national college football champions following the 1958 season.

In both 1960 and 1961, Iowa reached No. 1 in the national rankings during the season. The Hawkeyes finished the 1960 season as the No. 3 team in the nation.

Hayden Fry was named Iowa’s head coach in 1979 to begin a tenure that lasted until 1998. During his two decades at the helm, the Hawkeyes were ranked in the final Associated Press Top 25 in 10 seasons. They were the No. 10 team on the list in 1985 and 1991.

Kirk Ferentz continued this tradition of success as head coach of Iowa starting in 1999. After going 1-10 his first season at the helm, Ferentz has led the Hawkeyes to a major bowl game in 18 of his last 21 seasons.

During its storied history on the football field, Iowa has won one national championship and 12 conference titles. The Hawkeyes have appeared in 34 major postseason bowls. In 1939, Nile Kinnick was named the Heisman Trophy winner as college football’s most outstanding player.

Being charter members of the Big Ten, Iowa has formed a number of great rivalries over the years. The Wisconsin Badgers and the Minnesota Golden Gophers would top the list as members of the West Division.

Betting Iowa as a home favorite on the college football point spread is a popular wager. If the Hawkeyes were favored by three points against Wisconsin, they would have to beat the Badgers by four points or more to win that bet.

Betting on the Iowa Hawkeyes in Iowa

Iowa was one of the first Midwest states to legalize sports betting going back to August of 2019. Retail sportsbooks are licensed to operate in both commercial and tribal land-based casinos across the state.

Updated on 07/24/2024
Bonus Code INSIDER1000 Claim Now

There is also a large network of online sportsbook operators offering legal sports betting through mobile apps. Come football season, the Iowa Hawkeyes remain a very popular option for sports fans all across the Hawkeye State.