Get a sneak peek of the future VI! Try it now
Be Social on Youtube Bet Now

2020 MLB Cy Young Award Odds


The Cy Young award is handed out in both the American and National League at the conclusion of each Major League Baseball season. The honor goes to the top pitcher in each league. Win-loss record hasn't mattered as much recently for this award as advanced statistics are more meaningful such as earned run average, WHIP (walks/hits per inning pitched), and K/9 (strikeouts per nine innings).

Favorites to Win the 2020 National League Cy Young

Odds Subject to Change - Provided by DraftKings
T&C's Apply, 21+, Only in NJ, CO, IN, WV, IA & PA
Player Team
Jacob deGrom New York Mets
Max Scherzer Washington Nationals
Walker Buehler Los Angeles Dodgers
Jack Flaherty St. Louis Cardinals
Stephen Strasburg Washington Nationals

Mets' ace Jacob deGrom is seeking his third consecutive National League Cy Young Award honor. (AP)

Who will win the National League Cy Young Award?

There have been two pitchers to capture this honor in the last four seasons and the two hurlers are atop the betting board again. Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets is coming off consecutive Cy Young victories, although he won a total of 21 games in 2018 and 2019. deGrom led the National League in strikeouts (255) and ranked second in ERA (2.43), while owning a WHIP of less than 1.00 each of the last two seasons. The right-hander is listed as the favorite at +350 (Bet $100 to win $350) to become the first pitcher to win three consecutive Cy Young awards since Randy Johnson from 1999-2002.

Max Scherzer helped the Washington Nationals to its first World Series title last season. In spite of missing one month due to injury, Scherzer put together an ERA of less than 3.00 for the fifth straight season, while striking out 243 batters and finishing third in the Cy Young voting. Scherzer sits at 4/1 betting odds (+400) to pick up his fourth career Cy Young Award.

NL Cy Young Odds

2020 Odds to Win the National League Cy Young
Player (Team) Odds
Jacob deGrom (New York) 7/2
Max Scherzer (Washington) 4/1
Walker Buehler (Los Angeles) 8/1
Jack Flaherty (St. Louis) 8/1
Stephen Strasburg (Washington) 12/1
Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles) 15/1
Luis Castillo (Cincinnati) 18/1
Yu Darvish (Chicago) 20/1
Trevor Bauer (Cincinnati) 22/1
Patrick Corbin (Washington) 22/1
Aaron Nola (Philadelphia) 22/1
Max Fried (Atlanta) 28/1
Dinelson Lamet (San Diego) 28/1
Mike Soroka (Atlanta) 30/1
Chris Paddack (San Diego) 33/1
Sonny Gray (Cincinnati) 40/1
David Price (Los Angeles) 40/1
Robbie Ray (Arizona) 50/1
Zach Wheeler (Philadelphia) 50/1
Brandon Woodruff (Milwaukee) 50/1

National League Cy Young History

  • 2019 - Jacob deGrom, N.Y. Mets
  • 2018 - Jacob deGrom, N.Y. Mets
  • 2017 - Max Scherzer, Washington
  • 2016 - Max Scherzer, Washington
  • 2015 - Jake Arrieta, Chicago
  • 2014 - Clayton Kershaw, L.A. Dodgers
  • 2013 - Clayton Kershaw, L.A. Dodgers
  • 2012 - R.A. Dickey, N.Y. Mets
  • 2011 - Clayton Kershaw, L.A. Dodgers
  • 2010 - Roy Halladay, Philadelphia

Favorites to Win the 2020 American League Cy Young

Odds Subject to Change - Provided by DraftKings
T&C's Apply, 21+, Only in NJ, CO, IN, WV, IA & PA
Player Team
Gerrit Cole New York Yankees
Justin Verlander Houston Astros
Blake Snell Tampa Bay Rays
Mike Clevinger Cleveland Indians
Shane Bieber Cleveland Indians

Following an injury-filled 2019, Rays' southpaw Blake Snell seeks his second Cy Young award in three seasons. (AP)

Who will win the American League Cy Young Award?

There have been five different Cy Young winners in the American League the last five seasons. Justin Verlander picked up his second Cy Young honor last season, his first since winning it in Detroit back in 2011. Verlander helped guide the Houston Astros to a second World Series appearance in three seasons, while posting a 21-6 regular season record. Verlander led the Majors with 21 victories and put together the fourth-lowest ERA in the league at 2.58.

However, Verlander is listed at 7/1 odds to win the Cy Young Award, which is second behind former teammate Gerrit Cole. The right-hander finished with more strikeouts and a lower ERA than Verlander, but couldn't capture his first-ever Cy Young honor. Cole bolted Houston in the offseason to sign a mega-deal with the New York Yankees to become their primary ace. Cole is the American League Cy Young favorite at 11/4 odds (Bet $100 to win $275), looking to become the first Yankees' hurler since Roger Clemens in 2001 to take home the honor.

AL Cy Young Odds

2020 Odds to Win the American League Cy Young
Player (Team) Odds
Gerrit Cole (New York) 11/4
Justin Verlander (Houston) 7/1
Blake Snell (Tampa Bay) 9/1
Mike Clevinger (Cleveland) 10/1
Shane Bieber (Cleveland) 12/1
Tyler Glasnow (Tampa Bay) 12/1
Charlie Morton (Tampa Bay) 12/1
Lucas Giolito (Chicago) 18/1
Carlos Carrasco (Cleveland) 22/1
Corey Kluber (Texas) 22/1
Jose Berrios (Minnesota) 25/1
Zack Greinke (Houston) 25/1
Lance Lynn (Texas) 25/1
Eduardo Rodriguez (Boston) 28/1
Hyun-Jin Ryu (Toronto) 35/1
Lance McCullers, Jr. (Houston) 40/1
Frankie Montas (Oakland) 40/1
James Paxton (New York) 40/1
Matthew Boyd (Detroit) 50/1
Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles) 50/1

American League Cy Young History

  • 2019 - Justin Verlander, Houston
  • 2018 - Blake Snell, Tampa Bay
  • 2017 - Corey Kluber, Cleveland
  • 2016 - Rick Porcello, Boston
  • 2015 - Dallas Keuchel, Houston
  • 2014 - Corey Kluber, Cleveland
  • 2013 - Max Scherzer, Detroit
  • 2012 - David Price, Tampa Bay
  • 2011 - Justin Verlander, Detroit
  • 2010 - Felix Hernandez, Seattle
corner graphic