become a free member

Last Updated Jun 23, 2022, 4:12 PM


NBA Finals | Eastern Conference Finals | Western Conference Finals

The Eastern Conference Finals is one of two pro basketball conference series of the National Basketball Association. The winner of this best-of-seven series matchup will advance to The NBA Finals.

The Miami Heat won four consecutive Eastern Conference titles from 2010-14, but that run ended when LeBron James left in free agency to go back to Cleveland. James led the Cavaliers to the conference championship in 2015, and again in 2016. The Cavaliers handled the Toronto Raptors in six games to get back to the NBA Finals.

LeBron extended his winning streak in the 2018 conference finals to eight as the Cavaliers knocked out the Celtics in seven games. 

After James departed for the Los Angeles Lakers in the offseason, the Toronto Raptorscaptured the East Finals in six games over the Milwaukee Bucks.

The Heat returned to the NBA Finals in 2020 inside the Orlando bubble after defeated the Celtics in six games.

This year, the No. 1 seed Miami Heat faces the No. 2 Boston Celtics although the Heat enter as the series underdogs. Check out the latest Conference Finals odds for the 2022 NBA Playoffs.

Get the VI Daily Newsletter! Get the VI Daily Newsletter!


YearChampionOpponentSeries Result
2020-21Milwaukee BucksAtlanta Hawks4-2
2019-20Miami HeatBoston Celtics4–2
2018-19Toronto RaptorsMilwaukee Bucks4-2
2017-18Cleveland CavaliersBoston Celtics4–3
2016-17Cleveland CavaliersBoston Celtics4–1
2015-16Cleveland CavaliersToronto Raptors4–2
2014-15Cleveland CavaliersAtlanta Hawks4–0
2013-14Miami HeatIndiana Pacers4–2
2012-13Miami HeatIndiana Pacers4–3
2011-12Miami HeatBoston Celtics4–3
2010-11Miami HeatChicago Bulls4–1
2009-10Boston CelticsOrlando Magic4–2
2008-09Orlando MagicCleveland Cavaliers4–2
2007-08Boston CelticsDetroit Pistons4–2
2006-07Cleveland CavaliersDetroit Pistons4–2
2005-06Miami HeatDetroit Pistons4–2
2004-05Detroit PistonsMiami Heat4–3
2003-04Detroit PistonsIndiana Pacers4–2
2002-03New Jersey NetsDetroit Pistons4–0
2001-02New Jersey NetsBoston Celtics4–2
2000-01Philadelphia 76ersMilwaukee Bucks4–3
1999-00Indiana PacersNew York Knicks4–2
1998-99New York KnicksIndiana Pacers4–2
1997-98Chicago BullsIndiana Pacers4–3
1996-97Chicago BullsMiami Heat4–1
1995-96Chicago BullsOrlando Magic4–0
1994-95Orlando MagicIndiana Pacers4–3
1993-94New York KnicksIndiana Pacers4–3
1992-93Chicago BullsNew York Knicks4–2
1991-92Chicago BullsCleveland Cavaliers4–2
1990-91Chicago BullsDetroit Pistons4–0
1989-90Detroit PistonsChicago Bulls4–3
1988-89Detroit PistonsChicago Bulls4–2
1987-88Detroit PistonsBoston Celtics4–2
1986-87Boston CelticsDetroit Pistons4–3
1985-86Boston CelticsMilwaukee Bucks4–0
1984-85Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–1
1983-84Boston CelticsMilwaukee Bucks4–1
1982-83Philadelphia 76ersMilwaukee Bucks4–1
1981-82Philadelphia 76ersBoston Celtics4–3
1980-81Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–3
1979-80Philadelphia 76ersBoston Celtics4–1
1978-79Washington BulletsSan Antonio Spurs4–3
1977-78Washington BulletsPhiladelphia 76ers4–2
1976-77Philadelphia 76ersHouston Rockets4–2
1975-76Boston CelticsCleveland Cavaliers4–2
1974-75Washington BulletsBoston Celtics4–2
1973-74Boston CelticsNew York Knicks4–1
1972-73New York KnicksBoston Celtics4–3
1971-72New York KnicksBoston Celtics4–1
1970-71Baltimore BulletsNew York Knicks4–3
1969-70New York KnicksMilwaukee Bucks4–3
1968-69Boston CelticsNew York Knicks4–1
1967-68Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–1
1966-67Philadelphia 76ersBoston Celtics4–3
1965-66Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–1
1964-65Boston CelticsPhiladelphia 76ers4–3
1963-64Boston CelticsCincinnati Royals4–3
1962-63Boston CelticsCincinnati Royals4–1
1961-62Boston CelticsPhiladelphia Warriors4–2
1960-61Boston CelticsSyracuse Nationals4–3
1959-60Boston CelticsPhiladelphia Warriors4–1
1958-59Boston CelticsSyracuse Nationals3–0
1957-58Boston CelticsPhiladelphia Warriors3–2
1956-57Boston CelticsSyracuse Nationals3–1
1955-56Philadelphia WarriorsSyracuse Nationals2–0
1954-55Syracuse NationalsBoston Celtics3–1
1953-54Syracuse NationalsBoston Celtics3–1
1952-53New York KnicksBoston Celtics3–2
1951-52New York KnicksSyracuse Nationals2–1
1950-51New York KnicksSyracuse Nationals2–1

NBA News