NBA Finals History

The NBA Finals is the pro basketball championship of the National Basketball Association. The game pits the winner of the two conferences, Eastern and Western. The NBA Finals starts in June as two teams square off in a best-of-seven series.

Eastern Conference Finals | Western Conference Finals

NBA Finals Betting History

Jayson Tatum and Jaylen Brown helped the Boston Celtics win their 18th title in franchise history during the 2024 season. (Getty)

The Boston Celtics captured the 2023-24 NBA Finals by defeating the Dallas Mavericks 4-1 in the best-of-seven series.

Prior to the start of the season, the Celtics were listed as a +450 betting choice to win the finals.

NBA Finals Champions

Last 10 - Year-Winner (Odds to Win)

2023-24: Boston Celtics (+450)
2022-23: Denver Nuggets (+1800)
2021-22: Golden State Warriors (+900)
2020-21: Milwaukee Bucks (+500)
2019-20: L.A. Lakers (+450)
2018-19: Toronto Raptors (+1800)
2017-18: Golden State Warriors (-180)
 Golden State Warriors (-130)
2015-16: Cleveland Cavaliers (+250)
2014-15: Golden State Warriors (+2800)


Listed below are the NBA Champions from 1950 to 2024.

YearChampionOpponentSeries ResultMVP
2023-24Boston CelticsDallas Mavericks4-1Jalen Brown
2022-23Denver NuggetsMiami Heat4-1Nikola Jokic
2021-22Golden State WarriorsBoston Celtics4-2Steph Curry, Golden State
2020-21Milwaukee BucksPhoenix Suns4-2Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee
2019-20Los Angeles LakersMiami Heat4-2LeBron James, Los Angeles
2018-19Toronto RaptorsGolden State Warriors4-2Kawhi Leonard, Toronto
2017-18Golden State WarriorsCleveland Cavaliers4-0Kevin Durant, Golden State
2016-17Golden State WarriorsCleveland Cavaliers4-1Kevin Durant, Golden State
2015-16Cleveland CavaliersGolden State Warriors4-3LeBron James, Cleveland
2014-15Golden State WarriorsCleveland Cavaliers4-2Andre Iguodala, Golden State
2013-14San Antonio SpursMiami Heat4-1Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio
2012-13Miami HeatSan Antonio Spurs4-3LeBron James, Miami
2011-12Miami HeatOklahoma City Thunder4-1LeBron James, Miami
2010-11Dallas MavericksMiami Heat4-2Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
2009-10Los Angeles LakersBoston Celtics4-3Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles
2008-09Los Angeles LakersOrlando Magic4-1Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles
2007-08Boston CelticsL.A. Lakers4-2Paul Pierce, Boston
2006-07San Antonio SpursCleveland Cavaliers4-0Tony Parker, San Antonio
2005-06Miami HeatDallas Mavericks4-2Dwyane Wade, Miami
2004-05San Antonio SpursDetroit Pistons4-3Tim Duncan, San Antonio
2003-04Detroit PistonsLos Angeles Lakers4-1Chauncey Billups, Detroit
2002-03San Antonio SpursNew Jersey Nets4-2Tim Duncan, San Antonio
2001-02Los Angeles LakersNew Jersey Nets4-0Shaquille O'Neal, Los Angeles
2000-01Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ers4-1Shaquille O'Neal, Los Angeles
1999-00Los Angeles LakersIndiana Pacers4-2Shaquille O'Neal, Los Angeles
1998-99San Antonio SpursNew York Knicks4-1Tim Duncan, San Antonio
1997-98Chicago BullsUtah Jazz4-2Michael Jordan, Chicago
1996-97Chicago BullsUtah Jazz4-2Michael Jordan, Chicago
1995-96Chicago BullsSeattle SuperSonics4-2Michael Jordan, Chicago
1994-95Houston RocketsOrlando Magic4-0Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1993-94Houston RocketsNew York Knicks4-3Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1992-93Chicago BullsPhoenix Suns4-2Michael Jordan, Chicago
1991-92Chicago BullsPortland Trail Blazers4-2Michael Jordan, Chicago
1990-91Chicago BullsLos Angeles Lakers4-1Michael Jordan, Chicago
1989-90Detroit PistonsPortland Trail Blazers4-1Isiah Thomas, Detroit
1988-89Detroit PistonsLos Angeles Lakers4-0Joe Dumars, Detroit
1987-88Los Angeles LakersDetroit Pistons4-3James Worthy, Los Angeles
1986-87Los Angeles LakersBoston Celtics4-2Magic Johnson, Los Angeles
1985-86Boston CelticsHouston Rockets4-2Larry Bird , Boston
1984-85Los Angeles LakersBoston Celtics4-2Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles
1983-84Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers4-3Larry Bird, Boston
1982-83Philadelphia 76ersLos Angeles Lakers4-0Moses Malone, Philadelphia
1981-82Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ers4-2Magic Johnson, Los Angeles
1980-81Boston CelticsHouston Rockets4-2Cedric Maxwell, Boston
1979-80Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ers4-2Magic Johnson, Los Angeles
1978-79Seattle SuperSonicsWashington Bullets4-1Dennis Johnson, Seattle
1977-78Washington BulletsSeattle SuperSonics4-3Wes Unseld, Washington
1976-77Portland Trail BlazersPhiladelphia 76ers4-2Bill Walton, Portland
1975-76Boston CelticsPhoenix Suns4-2Jo Jo White, Boston
1974-75Golden State WarriorsWashington Bullets4-0Rick Barry, Golden State
1973-74Boston CelticsMilwaukee Bucks4-3John Havlicek, Boston
1972-73New York KnicksLos Angeles Lakers4-1Willis Reed, New York
1971-72Los Angeles LakersNew York Knicks4-1Wilt Chamberlain, Los Angeles
1970-71Milwaukee BucksBaltimore Bullets4-0Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee
1969-70New York KnicksLos Angeles Lakers4-3Willis Reed, New York
1968-69Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers4-3Jerry West, Los Angeles
1967-68Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers4-2-
1966-67Philadelphia 76ersSan Francisco Warriors4-2-
1965-66Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers4-3-
1964-65Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers4-1-
1963-64Boston CelticsSan Francisco Warriors4-1-
1962-63Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers4-2-
1961-62Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers4-3-
1960-61Boston CelticsSt. Louis Hawks4-1-
1959-60Boston CelticsSt. Louis Hawks4-3-
1958-59Boston CelticsMinneapolis Lakers4-0-
1957-58St. Louis HawksBoston Celtics4-2-
1956-57Boston CelticsSt. Louis Hawks4-3-
1955-56Philadelphia WarriorsFort Wayne Pistons4-1-
1954-55Syracuse NationalsFort Wayne Pistons4-3-
1953-54Minneapolis LakersSyracuse Nationals4-3-
1952-53Minneapolis LakersNew York Knicks4-1-
1951-52Minneapolis LakersNew York Knicks4-3-
1950-51Rochester RoyalsNew York Knicks4-3-
1949-50Minneapolis LakersSyracuse Nationals4-2-
1948-49Minneapolis LakersWashington Capitols4-2-
1947-48Baltimore BulletsPhiladelphia Warriors4-2-
1946-47Philadelphia WarriorsChicago Stags4-1-