Masters History


The Masters | U.S. Open | British Open | PGA Championship | Ryder Cup | Presidents Cup

The Masters is the first of four major golf tournaments. This annual event takes place in the first week of April and is held at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia. Along with the championship, the winner is given a green jacket, which has become a signature staple of the tournament.

Jack Nicklaus holds the most victories at Augusta with six championships, while Tiger Woods has five and Arnold Palmer has four wins at The Masters.

In the 2015 Masters, Jordan Spieth became the fifth golfer to capture a wire-to-wire victory at the Masters, the first since 1976.

The other four golfers to do so were:

  • Craig Wood (1941)
  • Arnold Palmer (1960)
  • Jack Nicklaus (1972)
  • Raymond Floyd (1976)
Jon Rahm captured the 2023 Masters as a +900 betting choice. (Getty)


Betting on the Masters has produced great returns for golf bettors historically and the last seven years have been no different, which includes the 2023 victory by Jon Rahm at +900 odds (Bet $100 to win $900).

  • 2023 - Jon Rahm (9/1)
  • 2022 - Scottie Scheffler (16/1)
  • 2021 - Hideki Matsuyama (46/1)
  • 2020 - Dustin Johnson (17/2)
  • 2019 - Tiger Woods (14/1)
  • 2018 - Patrick Reed (50/1)
  • 2017 - Sergio Garcia (30/1)

View the 2024 Masters Odds

Even though Johnson was considerd a top contender in 2020 at +850 odds, Tiger Woods and the three previous winners in the last five years all had a generous return.

Prior to Woods winning in 2019 at 14/1 odds, Patrick Reed cashed as a 50/1 choice in 2018.

Including the win by DJ in 2020, a United States golfer had captured the green jacket the last three years before Matsuyama won in 2021.

The last time we've seen a winning streak of four or more wins by Americans came between 2004 and 2007.

  • 2007 - Zach Johnson
  • 2006 - Phil Mickelson
  • 2005 - Tiger Woods
  • 2004 - Phil Mickelson

After the 2021 victory by Hideki Matsuyama, the last two international golfers to win the Masters were Sergio Garcia (30/1) and Danny Willett (50/1), doing so in 2017 and 2016 respectively.

Jon Rahm got the "International" strikers back on the map in 2023 as the Spanish standout earned his first green jacket.

Head over to our BetMGM Bonus Code page to check out our current Masters offer.


Masters Betting History (1934-2021)
Year Golfer Nationality
2023 Jon Rahm Spain
2022 Scottie Scheffler United States
2021 Hideki Matsuyama Japan
2020 Dustin Johnson United States
2019 Tiger Woods United States
2018 Patrick Reed United States
2017 Sergio Garcia Spain
2016 Danny Willett England
2015 Jordan Spieth United States
2014 Bubba Watson United States
2013 Adam Scott Australia
2012 Bubba Watson United States
2011 Charl Schwartzel South Africa
2010 Phil Mickelson United States
2009 Angel Cabrera Argentina
2008 Trevor Immelman South Africa
2007 Zach Johnson United States
2006 Phil Mickelson United States
2005 Tiger Woods United States
2004 Phil Mickelson United States
2003 Mike Weir Canada
2002 Tiger Woods United States
2001 Tiger Woods United States
2000 Vijay Singh Fiji
1999 Jose Maria Olazabal Spain
1998 Mark O'Meara United States
1997 Tiger Woods United States
1996 Nick Faldo England
1995 Ben Crenshaw United States
1994 Jose Maria Olazabal Spain
1993 Bernhard Langer Germany
1992 Fred Couples United States
1991 Ian Woosnam Wales
1990 Nick Faldo England
1989 Nick Faldo England
1988 Sandy Lyle Scotland
1987 Larry Mize United States
1986 Jack Nicklaus United States
1985 Bernhard Langer Germany
1984 Ben Crenshaw United States
1983 Seve Ballesteros Spain
1982 Craig Stadler United States
1981 Tom Watson United States
1980 Seve Ballesteros Spain
1979 Fuzzy Zoeller United States
1978 Gary Player South Africa
1977 Tom Watson United States
1976 Raymond Floyd United States
1975 Jack Nicklaus United States
1974 Gary Player South Africa
1973 Tommy Aaron United States
1972 Jack Nicklaus United States
1971 Charles Coody United States
1970 Billy Casper United States
1969 George Archer United States
1968 Bob Goalby United States
1967 Gay Brewer United States
1966 Jack Nicklaus United States
1965 Jack Nicklaus United States
1964 Arnold Palmer United States
1963 Jack Nicklaus United States
1962 Arnold Palmer United States
1961 Gary Player South Africa
1960 Arnold Palmer United States
1959 Art Wall, Jr. United States
1958 Arnold Palmer United States
1957 Doug Ford United States
1956 Jack Burke, Jr. United States
1955 Cary Middlecoff United States
1954 Sam Snead United States
1953 Ben Hogan United States
1952 Sam Snead United States
1951 Ben Hogan United States
1950 Jimmy Demaret United States
1949 Sam Snead United States
1948 Claude Harmon United States
1947 Jimmy Demaret United States
1946 Herman Keiser United States
1945 Cancelled WWII
1944 Cancelled WWII
1943 Cancelled WWII
1942 Byron Nelson United States
1941 Craig Wood United States
1940 Jimmy Demaret United States
1939 Ralph Guldahl United States
1938 Henry Picard United States
1937 Byron Nelson United States
1936 Horton Smith United States
1935 Gene Sarazen United States
1934 Horton Smith United States