Last Updated Feb 25, 2022, 11:19 AM

Oscar Tshiebwe Wooden Award Odds Jump

Kentucky’s Oscar Tshiebwe has become close to an even money favorite to be named the Wooden Award winner. The last Wildcats’ player to earn this honor was Anthony Davis 10 years ago, and Tshiebwe is hoping to follow in his footsteps. Tshiebwe is the top-ranked player in the country according to Ken Pomeroy, and Kentucky is one of the best teams in the nation with a 23-5 record.

2022 Wooden Award Odds

  • Oscar Tshiebwe +130
  • Kofi Cockburn +550
  • Johnny Davis +600
  • Keegan Murray +600
  • Ochai Agbaji +800
  • Chet Holmgren +2000
  • Bennedict Mathurin +2200
  • Jaden Ivey +2200
  • Paolo Banchero +2800
  • Jabari Smith Jr. +2800
  • E.J. Liddell +4000
  • Drew Timme +4000

Odds Provided by DraftKings - Subject to Change 

Tshiebwe was +900 to win the Wooden Award back in mid-January, but he has thrived in recent weeks and is posting big numbers. Tshiebwe is averaging 16.4 PPG and 15.3 RPG in one of the toughest conferences in the country, and his rebounding prowess has been off the charts. Kentucky’s big man leads the nation in offensive rebounding percentage and defensive rebounding percentage, and he is making 59.5% of his field goals.

Illinois’ Kofi Cockburn has thrived in his three seasons with the Fighting Illini. Cockburn helped lead the team to a No. 1 seed last year, and he has stepped up his game with Ayo Dosunmu in the NBA. He is averaging 21.2 PPG and 10.8 RPG while making 59.5% of his field goals. Luka Garza was named the Wooden Award winner last season, and Cockburn is putting up similar numbers for a less talented team in the Big Ten.

In mid-January, Johnny Davis was the favorite to win the Wooden Award. Davis has played a big role in leading Wisconsin to a 22-5 record, as he is averaging 20.6 PPG and 8.3 RPG. His efficiency leaves something to be desired though as he is making just 33% of his threes. That has been a big problem for the Badgers as everyone on the team that is averaging over 3.0 PPG is making no better than 34.3% of his threes.

It will be nearly impossible for Keegan Murray to be named the Wooden Award winner after teammate Luka Garza earned the honor last year. The last consecutive winners from the same school were Shane Battier and Jason Williams at Duke two decades ago, and Iowa doesn’t have the same kind of pull. Murray has had a great season, averaging 23.5 PPG and 8.1 RPG while being a very efficient shooter, but it will take something special for him to be named MVP.

Four-year senior Ochai Agbaji has saved the best for last in Lawrence. Agbaji is averaging 20.2 PPG and 5.2 RPG in his final season with the Jayhawks, and that has kept Kansas competitive in the best conference in college basketball.

We may be compensated by the company links provided on this page. Read more