World Series Betting History

The World Series is the pro baseball championship of Major League Baseball. The game pits the winner of the American League versus the National League. The World Series begins in late October as the two teams square off in a best-of-seven series.

The Texas Rangers captured the 2023 World Series by defeating the Arizona Diamondbacks in 4-1 of the best-of-seven series.

The World Series Odds had the Texas Rangers installed as -178 favorites to win the series.

Prior to the start of the regular season, the Texas Rangers were listed as high as a 50/1 betting choice to win the 2023 World Series.


Listed below are the MLB World Series Champions and Most Valuable Players (MVP) for each of the series.

YearChampionOpponentSeries ResultMVP
2023Texas RangersArizona Diamondbacks4-1Corey Seager
2022Houston AstrosPhiladelphia Phillies4-2Jeremy Pena
2021Atlanta BravesHouston Astros4-2Jorge Soler
2020Los Angeles DodgersTampa Bay Rays4-2Corey Seager
2019Washington NationalsHouston Astros4-3Stephen Strasburg
2018Boston Red SoxLos Angeles Dodgers4-1Steve Pearce
2017Houston AstrosLos Angeles Dodgers4-3George Springer
2016Chicago CubsCleveland Indians4-3Ben Zobrist
2015Kansas City RoyalsNew York Mets4-1Salvador Perez
2014San Francisco GiantsKansas City Royals4-3Madison Bumgarner
2013Boston Red SoxSt. Louis Cardinals4-2David Ortiz
2012San Francisco GiantsDetroit Tigers4-0Pablo Sandoval
2011St. Louis CardinalsTexas Rangers4-3David Freese
2010San Francisco GiantsTexas Rangers4-1Edgar Renteria
2009New York YankeesPhiladelphia Phillies4-2Hideki Matsui
2008Philadelphia PhilliesTampa Bay Rays4-1Cole Hamels
2007Boston Red SoxColorado Rockies4-0Mike Lowell
2006St. Louis CardinalsDetroit Tigers4-1David Eckstein
2005Chicago White SoxHouston Astros4-0Jermaine Dye
2004Boston Red SoxSt. Louis Cardinals4-0Manny Ramirez
2003Florida MarlinsNew York Yankees4-2Josh Beckett
2002Anaheim AngelsSan Francisco Giants4-3Troy Glaus
2001Arizona DiamondbacksNew York Yankees4-3Curt Schilling/Randy Johnson
2000New York YankeesNew York Mets4-1Derek Jeter
1999New York YankeesAtlanta Braves4-0Mariano Rivera
1998New York YankeesSan Diego Padres4-0Scott Brosius
1997Florida MarlinsCleveland Indians4-3Livan Hernandez
1996New York YankeesAtlanta Braves4-2John Wetteland
1995Atlanta BravesCleveland Indians4-2Tom Glavine
1993Toronto Blue JaysPhiladelphia Phillies4-2Paul Molitor
1992Toronto Blue JaysAtlanta Braves4-2Pat Borders
1991Minnesota TwinsAtlanta Braves4-3Jack Morris
1990Cincinnati RedsOakland Athletics4-0Jose Rijo
1989Oakland AthleticsSan Francisco Giants4-0Dave Stewart
1988Los Angeles DodgersOakland Athletics4-1Orel Hershiser
1987Minnesota TwinsSt. Louis Cardinals4-3Frank Viola
1986New York MetsBoston Red Sox4-3Ray Knight
1985Kansas City RoyalsSt. Louis Cardinals4-3Bret Saberhagen
1984Detroit TigersSan Diego Padres4-1Alan Trammell
1983Baltimore OriolesPhiladelphia Phillies4-1Rick Dempsey
1982St. Louis CardinalsMilwaukee Brewers4-3Darrell Porter
1981Los Angeles DodgersNew York Yankees4-2Guerrero/Cey/Yeager
1980Philadelphia PhilliesKansas City Royals4-2Mike Schmidt
1979Pittsburgh PiratesBaltimore Orioles4-3Willie Stargell
1978New York YankeesLos Angeles Dodgers4-2Bucky Dent
1977New York YankeesLos Angeles Dodgers4-2Reggie Jackson
1976Cincinnati RedsNew York Yankees4-0Johnny Bench
1975Cincinnati RedsBoston Red Sox4-3Pete Rose
1974Oakland AthleticsLos Angeles Dodgers4-1Rollie Fingers
1973Oakland AthleticsNew York Mets4-3Reggie Jackson
1972Oakland AthleticsCincinnati Reds4-3Gene Tenace
1971Pittsburgh PiratesBaltimore Orioles4-3Roberto Clemente
1970Baltimore OriolesCincinnati Reds4-1Brooks Robinson
1969New York MetsBaltimore Orioles4-1Donn Clendenon
1968Detroit TigersSt. Louis Cardinals4-3Mickey Lolich
1967St. Louis CardinalsBoston Red Sox4-3Bob Gibson
1966Baltimore OriolesLos Angeles Dodgers4-0Frank Robinson
1965Los Angeles DodgersMinnesota Twins4-3Sandy Koufax
1964St. Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees4-3Bob Gibson
1963Los Angeles DodgersNew York Yankees4-0Sandy Koufax
1962New York YankeesSan Francisco Giants4-3Ralph Terry
1961New York YankeesCincinnati Reds4-1Whitey Ford
1960Pittsburgh PiratesNew York Yankees4-3Bobby Richardson
1959Los Angeles DodgersChicago White Sox4-2Larry Sherry
1958New York YankeesMilwaukee Braves4-3Bob Turley
1957Milwaukee BravesNew York Yankees4-3Lew Burdette
1956New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-3Don Larsen
1955Brooklyn DodgersNew York Yankees4-3Johnny Podres
1954New York GiantsCleveland Indians4-0-
1953New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-2-
1952New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-3-
1951New York YankeesNew York Giants4-2-
1950New York YankeesPhiladelphia Phillies4-0-
1949New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-1-
1948Cleveland IndiansBoston Braves4-2-
1947New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-3-
1946St. Louis CardinalsBoston Red Sox4-3-
1945Detroit TigersChicago Cubs4-3-
1944St. Louis CardinalsSt. Louis Browns4-2-
1943New York YankeesSt. Louis Cardinals4-1-
1942St. Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees4-1-
1941New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-1-
1940Cincinnati RedsDetroit Tigers4-3-
1939New York YankeesCincinnati Reds4-0-
1938New York YankeesChicago Cubs4-0-
1937New York YankeesNew York Giants4-1-
1936New York YankeesNew York Giants4-2-
1935Detroit TigersChicago Cubs4-2-
1934St. Louis CardinalsDetroit Tigers4-3-
1933New York GiantsWashington Senators4-1-
1932New York YankeesChicago Cubs4-0-
1931St. Louis CardinalsPhiladelphia Athletics4-3-
1930Philadelphia AthleticsSt. Louis Cardinals4-2-
1929Philadelphia AthleticsChicago Cubs4-1-
1928New York YankeesSt. Louis Cardinals4-0-
1927New York YankeesPittsburgh Pirates4-0-
1926St. Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees4-3-
1925Pittsburgh PiratesWashington Senators4-3-
1924Washington SenatorsNew York Giants4-3-
1923New York YankeesNew York Giants4-2-
1922New York GiantsNew York Yankees4-0-
1921New York GiantsNew York Yankees5-3-
1920Cleveland IndiansBrooklyn Robins5-2-
1919Cincinnati RedsChicago White Sox5-3-
1918Boston Red SoxChicago Cubs4-2-
1917Chicago White SoxNew York Giants4-2-
1916Boston Red SoxBrooklyn Robins4-1-
1915Boston Red SoxPhiladelphia Phillies4-1-
1914Boston BravesPhiladelphia Athletics4-0-
1913Philadelphia AthleticsNew York Giants4-1-
1912Boston Red SoxNew York Giants4-3-
1911Philadelphia AthleticsNew York Giants4-2-
1910Philadelphia AthleticsChicago Cubs4-1-
1909Pittsburgh PiratesDetroit Tigers4-3-
1908Chicago CubsDetroit Tigers4-1-
1907Chicago CubsDetroit Tigers4-0-
1906Chicago White SoxChicago Cubs4-2-
1905New York GiantsPhiladelphia Athletics4-1-
1903Boston AmericansPittsburgh Pirates5-3-

Related Content