become a free member

Last Updated May 02, 2022, 21:12 PM


The National League is one of two leagues in Major League Baseball. The champion is decided in a best-of-seven series, which began in 1985. Prior to that, it was a best-of-five series when it began in 1969.

The champion is decided in a best-of-seven series, which began in 1985. Prior to that, it was a best-of-five series when it began in 1969 and this era to present day is considered the League Championship Series era.

In 2020 and 2021, we've seen rematches in the National League Championship Series or the NLCS with the Atlanta Braves and Los Angeles Dodgers meeting in the finales

The Braves captured the championship in seven games during the 2021 installment before the Dodgers did so in six games in 2020.

Make a note that only once since 1997 has a team won back-to-back NL Pennants which was done so by the Philadelphia Phillies in 2008 and 2009.


YearChampionOpponentSeries Result
2021Atlanta BravesLos Angeles Dodgers4-3
2020Los Angeles DodgersAtlanta Braves4-2
2019Washington NationalsSt. Louis Cardinals4-0
2018Los Angeles DodgersMilwaukee Brewers4-3
2017Los Angeles DodgersChicago Cubs4-1
2016Chicago CubsLos Angeles Dodgers4-2
2015New York MetsChicago Cubs4-0
2014San Francisco GiantsSt. Louis Cardinals4-1
2013St. Louis CardinalsLos Angeles Dodgers4-2
2012San Francisco GiantsSt. Louis Cardinals4-3
2011St. Louis CardinalsMilwaukee Brewers4-2
2010San Francisco GiantsPhiladelphia Phillies4-2
2009Philadelphia PhilliesLos Angeles Dodgers4-1
2008Philadelphia PhilliesLos Angeles Dodgers4-1
2007Colorado RockiesArizona Diamondbacks4-0
2006St. Louis CardinalsNew York Mets4-3
2005Houston AstrosSt. Louis Cardinals4-2
2004St. Louis CardinalsHouston Astros4-3
2003Florida MarlinsChicago Cubs4-3
2002San Francisco GiantsSt. Louis Cardinals4-1
2001Arizona DiamondbacksAtlanta Braves4-1
2000New York MetsSt. Louis Cardinals4-1
1999Atlanta BravesNew York Mets4-2
1998San Diego PadresAtlanta Braves4-2
1997Florida MarlinsAtlanta Braves4-2
1996Atlanta BravesSt. Louis Cardinals4-3
1995Atlanta BravesCincinnati Reds4-0
1993Philadelphia PhilliesAtlanta Braves4-2
1992Atlanta BravesPittsburgh Pirates4-3
1991Atlanta BravesPittsburgh Pirates4-3
1990Cincinnati RedsPittsburgh Pirates4-2
1989San Francisco GiantsChicago Cubs4-1
1988Los Angeles DodgersNew York Mets4-3
1987St. Louis CardinalsSan Francisco Giants4-3
1986New York MetsHouston Astros4-2
1985St. Louis CardinalsLos Angeles Dodgers4-2
1984San Diego PadresChicago Cubs3-2
1983Philadelphia PhilliesLos Angeles Dodgers3-1
1982St. Louis CardinalsAtlanta Braves3-0
1981Los Angeles DodgersMontreal Expos3-2
1980Philadelphia PhilliesHouston Astros3-2
1979Pittsburgh PiratesCincinnati Reds3-0
1978Los Angeles DodgersPhiladelphia Phillies3-1
1977Los Angeles DodgersPhiladelphia Phillies3-1
1976Cincinnati RedsPhiladelphia Phillies3-0
1975Cincinnati RedsPittsburgh Pirates3-0
1974Los Angeles DodgersPittsburgh Pirates3-1
1973New York MetsCincinnati Reds3-2
1972Cincinnati RedsPittsburgh Pirates3-2
1971Pittsburgh PiratesSan Francisco Giants3-1
1970Cincinnati RedsPittsburgh Pirates3-0
1969New York MetsAtlanta Braves3-0

MLB News