Last Updated May 02, 2022, 5:12 PM


The American League is one of two leagues in Major League Baseball.

The champion is decided in a best-of-seven series, which began in 1985. Prior to that, it was a best-of-five series when it began in 1969 and this era to present day is considered the League Championship Series era.

Going back to 2017, the Houston Astros have dominated the American League Championship Series or ALCS.

The club from the Lone Star State has made five consecutive appearances in the American League finale and the Astros have gone 3-2 during that span, with one of the wins coming in 2021 over the Boston Red Sox.


YearChampionOpponentSeries Result
2021Houston AstrosBoston Red Sox4-2
2020Tampa Bay RaysHouston Astros4-3
2019Houston AstrosNew York Yankees4-2
2018Boston Red SoxHouston Astros4-1
2017Houston AstrosNew York Yankees4-3
2016Cleveland IndiansToronto Blue Jays4-1
2015Kansas City RoyalsToronto Blue Jays4-2
2014Kansas City RoyalsBaltimore Orioles4-0
2013Boston Red SoxDetroit Tigers4-2
2012Detroit TigersNew York Yankees4-0
2011Texas RangersDetroit Tigers4-2
2010Texas RangersNew York Yankees4-2
2009New York YankeesLos Angeles Angels4-2
2008Tampa Bay RaysBoston Red Sox4-3
2007Boston Red SoxCleveland Indians4-3
2006Detroit TigersOakland Athletics4-0
2005Chicago White SoxLos Angeles Angels4-1
2004Boston Red SoxNew York Yankees4-3
2003New York YankeesBoston Red Sox4-3
2002Anaheim AngelsMinnesota Twins4-1
2001New York YankeesSeattle Mariners4-1
2000New York YankeesSeattle Mariners4-2
1999New York YankeesBoston Red Sox4-1
1998New York YankeesCleveland Indians4-2
1997Cleveland IndiansBaltimore Orioles4-2
1996New York YankeesBaltimore Orioles4-1
1995Cleveland IndiansSeattle Mariners4-2
1993Toronto Blue JaysChicago White Sox4-2
1992Toronto Blue JaysOakland Athletics4-2
1991Minnesota TwinsToronto Blue Jays4-1
1990Oakland AthleticsBoston Red Sox4-0
1989Oakland AthleticsToronto Blue Jays4-1
1988Oakland AthleticsBoston Red Sox4-0
1987Minnesota TwinsDetroit Tigers4-1
1986Boston Red SoxCalifornia Angels4-3
1985Kansas City RoyalsToronto Blue Jays4-3
1984Detroit TigersKansas City Royals3-0
1983Baltimore OriolesChicago White Sox3-1
1982Milwaukee BrewersCalifornia Angels3-2
1981New York YankeesOakland Athletics3-0
1980Kansas City RoyalsNew York Yankees3-0
1979Baltimore OriolesCalifornia Angels3-1
1978New York YankeesKansas City Royals3-1
1977New York YankeesKansas City Royals3-2
1976New York YankeesKansas City Royals3-2
1975Boston Red SoxOakland Athletics3-0
1974Oakland AthleticsBaltimore Orioles3-1
1973Oakland AthleticsBaltimore Orioles3-2
1972Oakland AthleticsDetroit Tigers3-2
1971Baltimore OriolesOakland Athletics3-0
1970Baltimore OriolesMinnesota Twins3-0
1969Baltimore OriolesMinnesota Twins3-0

MLB News