Find where to bet in your state! See Sportsbooks
Be Social on Youtube Bet Now

2021-22 Rocket Richard Trophy Odds

Oct. 6, 2021
by VI News

2021-22 Rocket Richard Trophy Odds

Odds To Win 2021-22 Rocket Richard Trophy (6/12/22)
Player (Team) Odds
Auston Matthews (Toronto) +350
Leon Draisaitl (Edmonton) +700
Connor McDavid (Edmonton) +750
Alex Ovechkin (Washington) +1000
David Pastrnak (Boston) +1200
Mika Zibanejad (N.Y. Rangers) +1800
Kyle Connor (Winnipeg) +1800
Alex DeBrincat (Chicago) +1800
Kirill Kaprizov (Minnesota) +1800
Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado) +1800
Sebastian Aho (Carolina) +2000
Nikita Kucherov (Tampa Bay) +2000
Brayden Point (Tampa Bay) +2000
Mikko Rantanen (Colorado) +2000
Brad Marchand (Boston) +2500
Max Pacioretty (Vegas) +2500
Patrick Kane (Chicago) +2500
Jake Guentzel (Pittsburgh) +2500
Aleksander Barkov (Florida) +2500
Steven Stamkos (Tampa Bay) +3000
Nikolaj Ehlers (Winnipeg) +3000
Artemi Panarin (N.Y. Rangers) +3500
Mark Scheifele (Winnipeg) +3500
Patrice Bergeron (Boston) +3500
Bryan Rust (Pittsburgh) +3500
Samson Reinhart (Florida) +3500
Elias Pettersson (Vancouver) +3500
Elias Lindholm (Calgary) +4000
John Tavares (Toronto) +4000
Mark Stone (Vegas) +4000
Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh) +4000
Gabriel Landeskog (Colorado) +4000
Jonathan Huberdeau (Florida) +4000

Odds Provided by BetMGM - Subject to Change - Updated: Wed., Oct. 6 - 9:30 PM ET

What is the Rocket Richard Award?

The Rocket Richard Award is given annually to the NHL's leading goal scorer. Washington Capitals' Alex Ovechkin has won this award seven times over the past 10 years, while the Eastern Conference has seen a winner in 11 straight seasons. Corey Perry in 2010-11 was the last Western Conference player to win the award.

How to read the Rocket Richard Trophy Odds

The "Rocket" Richard Trophy is named after Montreal Canadiens' Hall of Famer Maurice Richard and is awarded to the NHL player who scored the most goals in a season. The award was first handed out in the 1998-99 season with the original winner being Teemu Selanne of Anaheim. Only one season didn't have a winner, which came in the lockout campaign of 2004-05.

The player who has captured the most "Rocket" Richard Trophies is Washington Capitals' forward Alex Ovechkin with eight goal titles. Ovechkin has led the league in goals in six of the past seven seasons, including 51 goals last season.

At the time the season came to a halt in mid-March, Ovechkin was tied with Boston Bruins' forward David Pastrnak for most goals in the NHL with 48, while Toronto Maple Leafs' star Auston Matthews is one behind at 47.

Ovechkin came into the season as the favorite at 4/1 odds to win the trophy, while Pastrnak sat at hefty 40/1 odds to finish with the most goals.

Washington Capitals' star Alex Ovechkin is seeking his ninth "Rocket" Richard Trophy for most goals scored in a season. (AP)

Past Rocket Richard Award Winners

  • 2020-21: Auston Matthews (41) - Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 2019-20: Two players tied * (48)
  • 2018-19: Alex Ovechkin (51) - Washington Capitals
  • 2017-18: Alex Ovechkin (49) - Washington Capitals
  • 2016-17: Sidney Crosby (44) - Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2015-16: Alex Ovechkin (50) - Washington Capitals
  • 2014-15: Alex Ovechkin (53) - Washington Capitals
  • 2013-14: Alex Ovechkin (51) - Washington Capitals
  • 2012-13: Alex Ovechkin (32) - Washington Capitals
  • 2011-12: Steven Stamkos (60) - Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2010-11: Corey Perry (50) - Anaheim Ducks

* - David Pastrnak & Alex Ovechkin

corner graphic